USTFCCCA Announces Division I Men’s XC Scholar Athlete of  the Year

USTFCCCA Announces Division I Men’s XC Scholar Athlete of the Year

NEW ORLEANS – University of Oregon senior Galen Rupp has been named the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Men’s NCAA Division I Cross Country Scholar Athlete of the Year, the Association announced on Monday.

Rupp’s senior season was highlighted by his individual title at the 2008 NCAA Division I Men’s Cross Country Championships. Rupp also won the Pacific-10 Conference title and his second straight West Region Cross Country individual title, becoming just the third runner in Oregon history to win back-to-back regional cross country titles.

The Portland, Oregon native has been equally successful in his academic pursuits. Rupp has a stellar 3.91 GPA in Business Administration at Oregon.

A total of 40 men’s student-athletes received All-Academic honors for the 2008 NCAA Division I Cross Country season, representing 34 different schools.

The Big 12 Conference had the most conference student-athletes on the list with six, followed by the Big East Conference with four, and the Ivy League and Pacific-10 Conference with three student-athletes each.

The award honors those student-athletes who have succeeded both academically and athletically.  To be eligible for the award a student-athlete must carry a minimum 3.25 cumulative grade point average and must finish in the top 15 finishers (or top 10%) of the field at their respective NCAA regional meet or attain All-American status at the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships.

Virginia Tech’s Tasmin Fanning is the 2008 NCAA Division I USTFCCCA Women’s Cross Country Athlete of the Year.

The 2008 NCAA Division I USTFCCCA Men’s All-Academic Team

Duriel Hardy Neuroscience Brown University
Andy Baker Business Butler University
Ben Massam History College of William and Mary
Brendan Martin Undecided Columbia University
Bo Waggoner Undecided Duke University
Michael Banks Sports Management Georgetown University
Justin Scheid Accounting Georgetown University
Mark Steeds Criminal Justice Georgia State University
Daniel Chenoweth Undeclared Harvard University
Scott Keeney Mathematics Indiana State University
Andrew Ledwith Financial Management Iona College
Chris Vizcaino Criminal Justice Iona College
Hillary Bor Business Iowa State University
Kiel Uhl Architecture Iowa State University
Samuel Kosgei Health Lamar University
Josh Edmonds Criminal Justice Liberty University
Kyle Saginus Mechanical Engineering Marquette University
Patrick Sovacool Zoology Miami University (Ohio)
Robert Scribner Business Mississippi State University
Morten Bostrom Geographic Information Science Northern Arizona University
David McNeill Exercise Physiology Northern Arizona University
Ryan Vail International Studies Oklahoma State University
Tyler McCandless Meteorology Pennsylvania State University
Garrett Heath Management Science/Engineering Stanford University
Mitch Bible Mechanical Engineering Texas A&M University, College Station
Kevin McNab Renewable Natural Resources Texas A&M University, College Station
Matthew Williams Behavioral Science U.S. Air Force Academy
Lane Boyer Horticulture University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Richard Medina Spanish University of Colorado, Boulder
Christopher Lemon Education & Spanish University of Dayton
Matthew Lemon Engineering University of Dayton
Jesse Luciano Accounting University of Iowa
Alex Lundy Pre-Med University of Maryland, College Park
Galen Rupp Business Administration University of Oregon
Tommy Betterbed Biology University of Portland
David Kinsella Biology University of Portland
Matthew Llano Psychology University of Richmond
Japheth Ngojoy Biology/Chemistry University of Texas at El Paso
Jeremy Mineau Environmental Studies University of Washington
Hugo Beamish Civil Engineering Villanova University