Records Fall at Michael Johnson Classic

Courtesy: Baylor Sports Information

April 20, 2009   

Link to Results

WACO, Texas – Three stadium records were broken and Baylor’s Trey Harts and Chris Gowell clocked collegiate-leading times at the Michael Johnson Classic on Saturday at the Hart-Patterson Track and Field Complex.

Harts, the 2009 NCAA indoor champion in the 200 meters, clocked a time of 20.29 to win the invitational 200 meters. The time ranks as the second-fastest in Baylor history, trailing only Michael Johnson’s time of 19.85 set in 1990.

Harts’ time also set a new Hart-Patterson Track and Field Complex record, breaking Johnson’s time of 20.41 set in 1987.

Gowell, a mid-term transfer from Wales, recorded a time of 1:47.42 to win the men’s 800 meters. The time ranks as the seventh-fastest in school history, but just three-tenths off the second best time ever at Baylor.

Erin Bedell clocked 4:16.03 in the 1,500 meters, the second-fastest time in the nation this year. The time also ranks as the second-fastest in school history, behind Lauren Hagan’s time of 4:15.01 set at the 2008 U.S. Olympic Team Trials.

Read the Full Release