Wartburg College Selected as 2009 Division III Women’s Track and Field Scholar Team of the Year

Wartburg College Selected as 2009 Division III Women’s Track and Field Scholar Team of the Year

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced Thursday that Wartburg College was selected as the 2009 Indoor Track and Field Scholar Team of the Year and as the 2009 Outdoor Track and Field Scholar Team of the Year.

Wartburg swept the women’s indoor and outdoor track and field team championships this year. At the 2009 NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field Championships in March, the Knights scored a total of 51 points to win the team competition. The title was the first women’s indoor track & field team title in school history.

In addition to Indoor Track and Field Scholar Team of the Year Wartburg, 15 other teams with top-25 national finishes at the 2009 Division III Indoor Championships earned All-Academic Team honors for their academic and athletic performance.

Wartburg also earns the 2009 Outdoor Track and Field Scholar Team of the Year honors after winning the 2009 Division III Outdoor Track and Field Championships in May. The Knights secured the team victory by a margin of two points with a win in the meet’s final event, the 4×400-meter relay. Wartburg became just the seventh school in Division III history to win the indoor and outdoor women’s team titles in the same season.

Wartburg is joined on the All-Academic Team list by an incredible 22 additional teams that achieved top-25 finishes at the outdoor championships.


In addition to the Scholar Teams of the Year, the USTFCCCA also announced the women’s 2009 Division III All-Academic Track and Field Teams. A total of 100 Division III programs made up the women’s 2009 All-Academic Teams.

Shenandoah University led all institutions with a 3.676 team cumulative GPA, followed by Whitworth University with a 3.641 team GPA. Carleton College had the third-highest cumulative GPA with a 3.590.

The Centennial Conference, Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference, University Athletic Association, and Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference led all conferences with six teams selected from each conference as All-Academic Teams for 2009.

The selection of the All-Academic Indoor and Outdoor Scholar Teams of the Year award is based on a combination of academic and athletic achievements, with the top honor going to the team that had the combination of best overall finish at the respective Division III Indoor or Outdoor National Championships and cumulative GPA.

To be nominated, the team must carry a minimum 3.100 cumulative grade-point average.

2009 USTFCCCA Division III Women’s All-Academic Track and Field Teams:

Name Institution
Shenandoah University 3.676
Whitworth University 3.641
Carleton College 3.590
Claremont McKenna-Harvey Mudd-Scripps Colleges 3.582
Calvin College 3.581
Connecticut College 3.574
Simpson College 3.569
Colorado College 3.563
Ursinus College 3.560
Macalester College 3.550
Tufts University 3.550
Pomona-Pitzer Colleges 3.524
Haverford College 3.520
Massachusetts Institute of Technology 3.520
Messiah College 3.507
Luther College 3.505
Waynesburg University 3.500
Willamette University 3.500
Linfield College 3.487
Albion College 3.470
College of St. Benedict 3.470
Emory University 3.463
St. Olaf College 3.460
Trinity University (Texas) 3.455
Muhlenberg College 3.454
Nebraska Wesleyan University 3.450
Hope College 3.441
Grinnell College 3.440
Goucher College 3.420
Kenyon College 3.420
New York University 3.420
Hood College 3.414
University of Redlands 3.411
Illinois Wesleyan University 3.403
Ithaca College 3.402
University of Chicago 3.400
Concordia University (Wisconsin) 3.390
Ohio Northern University 3.390
University of Wisconsin, Stout 3.390
Springfield College 3.371
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute 3.370
State University College at Brockport 3.370
University of Wisconsin, La Crosse 3.370
Worcester Polytechnic Institute 3.370
Martin Luther College 3.365
Nazareth College 3.362
Concordia College, Moorhead 3.360
Gustavus Adolphus College 3.360
Johns Hopkins University 3.360
Ohio Wesleyan University 3.340
University of Puget Sound 3.340
Rhodes College 3.339
Washington and Lee University 3.337
Cornell College 3.333
University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire 3.330
Washington University (Missouri) 3.330
University of the South 3.324
Hendrix College 3.322
College of St. Scholastica 3.320
Christopher Newport University 3.310
Oberlin College 3.310
University of Rochester 3.310
Rochester Institute of Technology 3.301
St. Lawrence University 3.300
Plattsburgh State University of New York 3.290
College of Wooster 3.287
Augustana College (Illinois) 3.286
Capital University 3.283
Carnegie Mellon University 3.280
Bryn Mawr College 3.270
Loras College 3.253
Middlebury College 3.250
Salisbury University 3.249
North Central College 3.241
DePauw University 3.240
State University College at Geneseo 3.240
Moravian College 3.230
Wartburg College 3.227
Carroll University (Wisconsin) 3.222
Pacific Lutheran University 3.220
Dickinson College 3.210
Penn State Erie, the Behrend College 3.208
University of Wisconsin, Platteville 3.201
Babson College 3.200
Greenville College 3.200
State University College at Oneonta 3.200
Frostburg State University 3.199
John Carroll University 3.190
St. Norbert College 3.160
Elizabethtown College 3.150
The College of New Jersey 3.143
University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh 3.143
Gwynedd-Mercy College 3.140
Central College (Iowa) 3.132
Allegheny College 3.130
State University of New York at Oswego 3.124
North Park University 3.120
University of Wisconsin, Whitewater 3.120
Defiance College 3.110
Wheaton College (Massachusetts) 3.110