2009 Cross Country Season Kicks Off

2009 Cross Country Season Kicks Off

As the leaves begin to turn colors, it can only mean one thing: the start of cross country season. Several teams began their seasons over the weekend including several top-ranked squads.

Adams State, ranked number one in both the men’s and women’s Division II XC National Rankings kicked off 2009 with a bang as both squads took home victories at the Joe Vigil Invitational. The Grizzly men scored a perfect 15 points while the women took home top honors scoring 25 points.

Joe Vigil Invitational Results

Oregon, last year’s men’s NCAA Division I XC National Champions, got off to a quick start for 2009 as they opened the season with the Oregon Pre’s Trail Pre-View. The Oregon men scored a perfect 15 points in defeating Portland State, while the Oregon women bested both Portland State and Oregon State in head-to-head dual meet action.

Oregon Pre’s Trail Pre-View Results

Georgia and Georgia Tech also got their seasons started over the weekend with the Georgia-Georgia Tech Duals. The Bulldogs came away victorious in both the men’s and women’s races scoring a perfect 15 in each race.

Georgia-Georgia Tech Duals Results

Penn State and Lock Haven faced off against each other in the Dolan Duals with the Penn State women taking home top honors while Lock Haven scored a win on the men’s side.

Dolan Duals Results – Men | Women

Dayton hosted the Dayton Flyer 5k over the weekend with Miami University taking home the women’s team title while the University of Dayton scored a men’s victory.

Dayton Flyer 5k Results – Men | Women

In NAIA action over the weekend, perennial power Azusa Pacific University opened the season in rather impressive fashion as All-American runners – Abednego Magut and Jacky Kipwambok scored individual men’s and women’s wins at the Cal State Fullerton Season Opener.

Cal State Fullerton Season Opener Results

To see the complete results from the weekend check out the USTFCCCA Weekly Results page:


The Bowerman 2018 - Finalists Fan Voting


The online fan vote will close Thursday, June 28 at 10:00 p.m., Eastern.