Norfolk State Sweeps MEAC Titles to Kickoff D1 Conference Championship Season

Norfolk State Sweeps MEAC Titles to Kickoff D1 Conference Championship Season

LANDOVER, Md. — The Norfolk State Spartan men’s and women’s track and field teams won the 2010 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Indoor Track and Field titles Saturday afternoon at the Prince George’s Sports and Learning Complex in Landover, Maryland.

FINAL Results: Full Results | Heptathlon Results | Pentathlon Results

USTFCCCA’s Division I Conference Championship Central

The victories marked the first time that both men’s and women’s programs from the same institution have captured the titles since the 2003 championships.

On the men’s side, the Spartans captured their fifth consecutive MEAC indoor crown and set a meet record with 188 points.

Spartans Head Coach Kenneth Giles was named the Outstanding Coach for the fifth consecutive year.

"We have a great group of student-athletes and we don’t rebuild, we reload at Norfolk State," said Giles. "The student-athletes did an amazing job and we are looking forward to the outdoor season."

Hampton’s Damon Dixon tallied 29 points and was named the Outstanding Field Performer, while Norfolk State’s Philemon Kimutai recorded 26.50 points to earn the Outstanding Runner Performer award.

Hampton finished second with 98 points followed by North Carolina A&T State to round out the top three with 82.5 points.

NSU’s Sean Holston set a meet record with a time of 21.32 in the 200m dash. North Carolina A&T’s Justin Byron set the previous mark of 21.35 in 2006.

In women’s action, Norfolk State posted 159 points to win their first crown since 2000. The Hampton Lady Pirates finished in second with 122.5 followed by Maryland Eastern Shore in third with 102.

Norfolk State’s Ronda Berard was named the Women’s Outstanding Coach.

"Our expectations were there and our ladies performed in every event. To win the championship on both the men’s and women’s side is exceptional," stated Berard.

NSU’s Elaine Rhoades posted 17 points to earn Outstanding Field Performer honors, while Hampton’s Francena McCorory recorded 27.50 points and was named the Outstanding Runner.

The Bowerman 2018 - Finalists Fan Voting


The online fan vote will close Thursday, June 28 at 10:00 p.m., Eastern.