National Coaches of the Year in Division II are Martin, Thomas

National Coaches of the Year in Division II are Martin, Thomas

NEW ORLEANS – Adams State’s Damon Martin and Lincoln (Mo.)’s Victor Thomas were recognized Thursday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) as recipients of National Coach of the Year Awards as chosen by the nation’s coaches for the indoor track & field season in Division II.


Martin, in his 11th year as the head coach at Adams State, helped guide the Grizzlies to their first NCAA indoor track & field team title. With 89 total points, Adams State held off 11-time champ Saint Augustine’s 72-point rally. The Grizzlies picked up NCAA event titles in the mile, 5000 meters, and the distance medley relay. In the mile, Adams State swept the top three spots, and, in the 5000, the Grizz went 1-2-4-5-6. Adams State has dominated the competition all season, which included a 68-point win at the RMAC Championships.

NATIONAL WOMEN’S COACH OF THE YEAR: Victor Thomas, Lincoln (Mo.)

Thomas guided the Blue Tigers to their fourth NCAA indoor team championship, scoring 56 to better Ashland and Grand Valley State’s 47. Lincoln has now won the national title two years in a row and all four have occurred in the last seven years under Thomas’ guidance. Lincoln sophomore Semoy Hackett won national crowns in the 60- and 200-meter dash and both in championship-record time. The Blue Tigers also won the NCAA 4×400-meter relay for the first time since 2005. Earlier in the year, Lincoln won the Division II Team Challenge at Findlay.

The Bowerman 2018 - Finalists Fan Voting


The online fan vote will close Thursday, June 28 at 10:00 p.m., Eastern.