Eddins, Jones, Paranya, and Tassone To Be Inducted into Division III Athlete Hall of Fame
Award History

Eddins, Jones, Paranya, and Tassone To Be Inducted into Division III Athlete Hall of Fame

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Friday that the Association will induct four new members to their Division III Track & Field Athlete Hall of Fame. Genesia Eddins, Brandon Jones, Karl Paranya, Melissa (Oleson) Tassone will be honored with an induction ceremony to be held Wednesday, May 26, in Berea, Ohio, site of the upcoming NCAA Division III Championships.

Genesia Eddins – UMass Boston
An eight-time individual NCAA Champion, Eddins claimed a total of 17 All-America awards between relays and the 400 and 800 meters in the late 80s. Eddins was also part of six NCAA Champion 4×400-meter relays squads and her name still remains with that relay as holding the outdoor NCAA Championship record in the event. UMass Boston claimed four NCAA team titles during her career. The 2003 UMass Boston Hall of Fame inductee, Eddins went on to compete in the 1996 U.S. Olympic Trials at 800 meters.

Brandon Jones – Lincoln (Pa.)
Jones, an 11-time NCAA Champion, won three national titles in both the indoor 55-meter hurdles and in the 100-meter dash. Jones also added two NCAA crowns in the 200 meters and three as a member of the Lions’ 4×100-meter relay squads in a career that spanned from 1991 to 1995. Jones set then-championship records in the 55-meter hurdles of 6.31 in 1992 and again in 1995 and in the 100 meters with a 10.51 run in 1992.

Karl Paranya – Haverford
Paranya, a 12-time All-American, made history in becoming the first Division III sub-four minute miler with a 3:57.6 run in 1997. The nine-time NCAA Champion claimed titles in the 800 and 1500 meters and was named the Division III Male Track Athlete of the Year in 1997. At the USATF Championsips in 1997, Paranya was runner-up in the 1500 meters and additionally was a 1500-meter Olympic Trials semifinalist in 2000. In addition, Paranya was part of the current indoor world-best 4×800-meter relay (7:13.94) in 2000.

Melissa (Oleson) Tassone – UW Oshkosh
Tassone earned 16 All-America titles while at UW Oshkosh with the shot put, weight throw, discus and hammer. Winning four NCAA Championship titles in 1996 and 1997, Tassone set a then-meet record in the weight throw and helped lead UW Oshkosh to an NCAA indoor team title in 1996. The 2009 inductee into the UW Oshkosh Hall of Fame was the WIAC Scholar-Athlete of 1997.