Multi-Talented Aisha Adams, Tobey Are Division II Field Athletes of the Year

By Tom Lewis, USTFCCCA

June 3, 2010   

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Thursday that Dane Tobey of the University of Nebraska at Kearney and Aisha Adams of Angelo State University were named the National Field Athletes of the Year for Outdoor Track & Field in Division II as voted by the nation’s coaches.


Tobey, a junior from Waco, Neb., was the NCAA Division II Champion in the shot put, winning by over three feet to claim the title with a third-round, personal-best toss of 62-7¼ (19.08m). Tobey also ended the season as the divisional leader in the discus, achieving a mark of 186-10 (56.96m). Tobey finished ninth in the event at the national championships. Tobey was the RMAC Champion in the discus and shot as well as the Drake Relays college-division shot put champion.

Past Winners:
2010: Dane Tobey, Neb.-Kearney
2009: Joe Kindred, Saint Augustine’s
2008: Joe Kindred, Saint Augustine’s
2007: Kibwe Johnson, Ashland
2006: Chris Randolph, Seattle Pacific


Adams, a senior from Covington, Tenn., completed an exhausting, 12-discipline medley at the NCAA Championships last weekend in leading the Rambelles to their first NCAA team title. Scoring 36 points in six event finals, Adams will no doubt leave a mark in the history books. Adams notched a second national crown in the heptathlon to begin the weekend, scoring 5,698 points to go with the 5,795 scored earlier in the season for the all-time Division II best at the Texas Relays. In strictly field events, Adams added a third-place national showing in the long jump, a fourth in the triple jump, and a fifth in the high jump.

While not part of award consideration, Adams also added a national runner-up performance in the 400-meter hurdles and a sixth-place showing in the 100-meter hurdles. The 400-meter hurdle race was a classic, as Adams (56.93) and Lincoln (Mo.) freshman Michelle Cumberbatch (56.85) bettered the championships record, but Cumberbatch caught the tape first for victory. The 56.93 by Adams moved her into Division II’s all-time top five in the event. All told, Adams recorded a 1-2-3-4-5-6 national finish in the various events.

Past Winners:
2010: Aisha Adams, Angelo State
2009: Aisha Adams, Angelo State
2008: Whitney Johnson, UC San Diego
2007: Kwonya Ferguson, Saint Augustine’s
2006: Cecilia Barnes, Cal State Bakersfield

USTFCCCA 2010 National Award Winners, Division II, Outdoor Track & Field

National Track Athlete of the Year: Leford Green, Johnson C. Smith
National Field Athlete of the Year: Dane Tobey, Neb.-Kearney
National Assistant Coach of the Year:
National Coach of the Year:

National Track Athlete of the Year: Jessica Pixler, Seattle Pacific
National Field Athlete of the Year: Aisha Adams, Angelo State
National Assistant Coach of the Year:
National Coach of the Year: