Adams State Presented with USTFCCCA Division II Men’s Program of the Year Awards

Adams State Presented with USTFCCCA Division II Men’s Program of the Year Awards

ALAMOSA, Colo. – At halftime of Saturday night’s Adams State football game, the first under the lights at the new Rex Stadium, U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches’ Association (USTFCCCA) CEO Sam Seemes was on hand to present the Grizzlies with the 2008-09 and 2009-10 Division II Men’s Program of the Year Awards.

Division II Men’s Program of the Year Winners
2009-2010Adams State (1st), Pittsburg State (2nd), Western Washington (3rd)
2008-2009Adams State (1st), Abilene Christian (2nd), Western State (3rd)

Head coach Damon Martin and a large group of ASC cross country and track & field athletes were on the field for the ceremony in front of a large crowd at Rex Stadium and were recognized for their accomplishments.

To be eligible for the award, teams must qualify for the NCAA Championships in cross country, indoor track & field and outdoor track & field. Scoring is based on the teams finish at each of the three NCAA Division II Championships, with the lowest score for all three combined championships determining the award recipient.

Adams State brought home the inaugural award for the 2008-09 year, with a total of six points after placing first cross country, second in indoor track & field and third in outdoor track & field.
The Grizzlies then repeated during the 2009-10 year, with first-place finishes in cross country and indoor track & field and as fourth-place finish in outdoor track & field.

Between the 2008-09 and 2009-10 years, the Grizzlies recorded nine individual event national championships as well. Reuben Mwei, a 2010 Adams State graduate, was the men’s cross country national champion in 2009, and was the 3,000-meter steeplechase champion on the track at outdoor nationals in both 2009 and 2010. Another 2010 grad, Aaron Braun, claimed a pair of individual national championships, winning the mile at the 2009 indoor championships, then defending his title in 2010.

Brian Medigovich, a 2010 graduate, claimed a national title at the 2010 indoor championships in the 5,000 meter run. Former Grizzlies Matt Gersick and Josh Streeter, both 2009 graduates, won NCAA Division II titles in the shot put and 400-meter hurdles, respectively, as seniors at the 2009 indoor and outdoor championships, respectively.

Additionally, Braun was joined by three current Grizzlies, including senior Drew Soucy (Lubbock, Texas), junior Drew Graham (Newcastle, England) and sophomore Keegan Calmes (Wind Lake, Wisc.) in winning the distance medley relay at the 2010 indoor championships.

With the men’s cross country team currently ranked atop Division II, the Grizzlies will look to take their third straight USTFCCCA Division II Men’s Program of the Year Award in the awards third-year of existence.

Related Item: Presentation Video
Related Item: 2009-10 Program of the Year Announcement