Donnelly, Aldrich Named National Coaches of the Year in Division III

Donnelly, Aldrich Named National Coaches of the Year in Division III

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Tuesday that Tom Donnelly of Haverford and Terry Aldrich of Middlebury were named as National Coaches of the Year for the 2010 cross country season. Donnelly’s Fords won the first NCAA team title in Haverford’s athletics history while retiring Aldrich’s women’s crew won their sixth national team crown.


Haverford, coached by Donnelly in his 36th year, won their first NCAA title in men’s cross country and their first NCAA title in the school’s athletics history. The Fords were led by Anders Hulleberg who became the first since 1998 to win the individual championship en route to a national team title. Haverford then placed two more runners, Chris Southwick and Lucas Fuentes inside the scoring top 20 and the full five, including Jordan Schilit and Eric Arnold, inside the overall top 35.

Earlier in the season, Donnelly’s Fords won the NCAA Mideast Region with just 23 points, placing his five scorers in the top seven and full squad in the top 15. Haverford won the Centennial Conference meet with the scoring five finishing in the top seven.


Having announced his retirement earlier in the year, Middlebury’s Aldrich had a way of making a fond farewell to the coaching ranks by leading his team to another national team title. For Middlebury, their hard-fought eight-point victory over Washington (Mo.) brought the squad their NCAA Division III title in women’s cross country. Middlebury and Aldrich have now won all of those six titles in a span of 11 championships with crowns in 2000, 2001, 2003, 2006, 2008, and, now, 2010.

Middlebury’s success at this year’s championships stemmed from a top five crew that finished within 26 seconds of each other. Despite the team’s top runner finishing 40th overall, freshman Collete Whitney was responsible for just 24 place points and was followed closely by sophomore Addie Tousley who added 29 place points.

Earlier in the fall, Middlebury would win a third-straight NCAA New England region title with a 33-point victory over Williams after placing all five in the race’s top 20. Middlebury also won their third-straight and 11th overall NESCAC title this season.


USTFCCCA 2010 National Award Winners, Division III, Cross Country

National Athlete of the Year: Andres Hulleberg, Haverford
National Coach of the Year: Tom Donnelly, Haverford

National Athlete of the Year: Wendy Pavlus, St. Lawrence
National Coach of the Year: Terry Aldrich, Middlebury