Weekend Review: January 24, 2011; Van Buskirk Sets Collegiate Record

Weekend Review: January 24, 2011; Van Buskirk Sets Collegiate Record

Collegiate Indoor Track & Field Weekend Review

Weekend’s Top Stories

Duke’s Van Buskirk Runs for 1000-Meter Collegiate Record
BLACKSBURG, Va.  — At this weekend’s Hokie Invitational, hosted by Virginia Tech, Duke’s Kate Van Buskirk came back from anchoring the Blue Devils to a 4×800 victory the night before to win the 1000 meters in a collegiate-record time of 2:41.00.

 “In 20 years I’ve never seen a Duke athlete set a collegiate record,” said Director of Track and Field Norm Olgilvie. “It just goes to show how strong our program has become.”  

The previous record of 2:41.56 was set in 1989 by Teena Colebrook of Cal Poly. (read more)

Aggies Sweep LSU in First Dual Meet
COLLEGE STATION, Texas (Texas A&M release) — As the No. 2 Texas A&M women pulled away from No. 3 LSU for a 91-67 victory, the No. 3 Aggie men were tied with No. 2 LSU at 55 and 66 before claiming an 84-75 team win in front of 2,054 fans at Gilliam Indoor Track Stadium.

"It’s important for this group to know they are a national caliber team as well as a very good dual meet team," Texas A&M coach Pat Henry said. "We always try to have a balanced track team."

Jessica Beard (women’s 200 and 400) and Gerald Phiri (men’s 60 and 200) supplied sprint doubles to the Aggie effort. (read more)

Ole Miss’ Robertson Sets New Heights in High Jump
JONESBORO, Ark. (Ole Miss release) — Ricky Robertson broke his own school high jump record again as he posted the top jump in the nation this year to lead the Rebels at the Arkansas State Invitational on Saturday. 

Robertson leaped 7-5¾ (2.28m)  to break his own record of 7-5 he set earlier this season at the Arkansas State Kickoff Klassic. The jump topped the nation’s previous high mark of 7-5¼ by Indiana’s Derek Drouin and Kansas State’s Erik Kynard from earlier this season.

Southern Illinois’ Berry Tops Uses Collegiate Leader to Top Stacked Field
BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Southern Illinois senior Gwen Berry won the women’s weight throw at Indiana’s Gladsetin Invitational on Saturday with a personal-best and collegiate leading throw of 74-6¼ (22.71m). Berry topped teammate Jeneva McCall and defending national champion D’Ana McCarty of Louisville for the victory. The event also snapped McCarty’s nine-meet winning streak that dated back to January 9, 2010.

"Gwen had an excellent throw," said SIU Head Coach Connie Price-Smith. "It was really surprising. She had a really big throw, so that was exciting. Probably the most exciting thing that happened this meet." (read more)


Weekend’s Best Marks

(week ending January 23, 2011, marks unconverted)

55m Markus Henderson Texas Tech 6.16 CL
60m Joe Morris Colorado 6.63
Gerald Phiri Texas A&M 6.63
200m Kirani James Alabama 20.58 A WL, CL
300m Brandon Byram Florida State 33.19 CL
400m Demetrius Pinder Texas A&M 46.87
500m Aaron Younger Rutgers 1:02.73
600yd LaToy Williams Texas Tech 1:10.73
600m Harun Abda Minnesota 1:17.85
800m Miles Batty BYU 1:49.49
1000m Jeremy Rae Notre Dame 2:22.53
Mile David McCarthy Providence 4:00.74 CL
3000m Andrew Bayer Indiana 7:48.35 WL, CL
5000m Jeff Schirmer Southern Illinois 14:07.32 CL
55mH Bryce Brown Texas Tech 7.19 CL
60mH Terence Somerville Cincinnati 7.68 CL
4x400m South Plains # 3:05.18 (ov)
Texas A&M 3:06.16 WL, CL
Tran Howell (46.93), Tabarie Henry (46.18), Bryan Miller (46.58), Michael Preble (46.48)
4x800m VMI 7:48.35
Andrey Dmitriev (1:57.16), Dean Gonsalves (1:54.37), Jacob Lysher (1:55.12), Felix Kitur (1:52.10)
DMR Virginia 14:07.32
Taylor Gilland (3:00.98), Aaron Shepperd (49.70), Drew Paisley (1:52.64), Patrick Todd (4:05.99)
HJ Ricky Robertson Mississippi 2.28m 7-5¾ CL
PV Victor Weirich BYU 5.50m 18-½  CL
LJ Bryce Lamb Texas Tech 7.98m  26-2¼
TJ Chris Carter Houston 16.12m 52-10¾ 
SP Kurt Roberts Ashland* 19.42m 62-8¾
WT Walter Henning LSU 22.04m 72-3¾ CL
PENT Evan Davis Southern Maine** 3347
HEPT Ben Jasinski South Dakota State 5429
55m Terre Evans Texas Tech 6.90^
60m Stormy Kendrick Clemson 7.22 WL, CL
200m Jessica Beard Texas A&M 22.95 WL, CL
300m Marlena West Clemson 38.09 CL
400m Jessica Beard Texas A&M 52.97 CL
500m Heidy Palacios Manhattan 1:14.27
600yd Kianna Elahi Iowa State 1:21.92 (ov)   CL
600m Bethany Praska Iowa 1:29.60
800m Chanelle Price Tennessee 2:07.93
1000m Kate Van Buskirk Duke 2:41.00
(old: 2:41.56, Teena Colebrook, Cal Poly, 1989)
Mile Rebecca Tracy Notre Dame 4:42.14
3000m Chelsea Blanchard Indiana 9:24.41
5000m Katherine Devlin Texas A&M 16:50.37
55mH Kelsey Lloyd Texas Tech 7.79
60mH Brianna Rollins Clemson 8.15
4×400 LSU 3:37.49
Cassandra Tate (54.74), Siedda Herbert (54.66), Jonique Day (54.17), Rebecca Alexander (53.92)
4×800 Duke 8:42.54 CL
Cydney Ross (2:10.15), Esther Vermeer (2:13.02), Devotia Moore (2:15.23), Kate Van Buskirk (2:04.15)
DMR Virginia 11:21.19 CL
Vanessa Fabrizio (3:32.01), Jennifer Weatherly (57.64), Colette Gnade (2:09.92), Stephanie Garcia (4:41.63)
HJ Langley Iverson Utah 1.85m 6-¾
PV Shade Weygandt Texas Tech 4.40m 14-5¼
LJ Sonnisha Williams Central Florida 6.32m 20-9
TJ Nkeiruka Domike Neb.-Omaha* 13.00m^ 42-8
SP Faith Sherrill Indiana 17.39m^ 57-¾
WT Gwen Berry Southern Illinois 22.71m 74-6¼ CL
PENT Malaikah Love Southern Illinois 3979

^ Athlete/relay has a better mark this season
* NCAA Division II Institution
** NCAA Division III Institution
# Junior College
A – Performance occurred at altitude
(ov) – Performance occurred on an oversized track; not-eligible for WLs
CL – Collegiate-leading mark
WL – World-leading mark (verified by Track & Field News)

Active Collegiate Winning Streaks

(known winning streaks)
Report streaks to tom@ustfccca.org

MEN Individuals & Relays



5: Kind Butler, Indiana



6: Torrin Lawrence, Georgia (last loss: 5/17/09, SEC Indoor Championships [DNF])


8: Torrin Lawrence, Georgia (last loss: 5/17/09, SEC Indoor Championships [DNF])
Win streak in races finished: (11) does not include DNF at 2009 SEC Indoor (has yet not lost a collegiate race in which he finished)



3: Robby Andrews, Virginia


5: Robby Andrews, Virginia



3: Adams Abdulrazaaq, Virginia


6: Adams Abdulrazaaq, Virginia



5: Texas A&M (last loss: 2010 Penn Relays)

OVERALL RACES (all rounds)

7: Texas A&M


5: Texas A&M (last loss: 2/13/10, 2nd to Texas Tech)



10: Derek Drouin, Indiana (last loss: 2/13/10, Tyson Invitational, 6th place)
All competitions: (12) includes wins in summer 2010 (including Canadian national championships)



6: Scott Roth, Washington
(last collegiate loss: 3/14/08, NCAA Indoor Championships [10th place])
All competitions: (8) won two meets in 2009 while redshirting (last loss: 1/31/09, UW Invitational)



5: Christian Taylor, Florida (last collegiate loss: 6/13/09, NCAA Championships [3rd place])
Taylor was second at the USATF Championships in 2010
4: Chrys Jones, Centre (last loss: 3/20/10 Rhodes Open)
Jones has won 12 of the last 13 competitions, beginning with the 2009 indoor season


5: Christian Taylor, Florida (lass loss: 2/14/09, Tyson Invitational [5th place])
5: Chrys Jones, Centre (last loss: 2008 NCAA Indoor Championships)



6: Vincent Elardo, Monmouth (last loss: 3/6/10, IC4A Indoor)
5: Kurt Roberts, Ashland  (last loss: 2/13/10, Akron Invitational)


6: Walter Henning, LSU (last loss: 3/14/09, NCAA Indoor Championships [4th place])



4: Craig Kinsley, Brown (last loss: 6/12/09, NCAA Championships [3rd place])


WOMEN Individuals & Relays



4: Sheniqua Ferguson, Auburn (last loss: 2/13/10, Tyson Invite [3rd place in heat/7th overall])



9: Neely Spence, Shippensburg (has not lost as a collegian)


5: Neely Spence, Shippensburg (has not lost as a collegian)



4: Amber Kaufman, Hawaii
4: Priscilla Frederick, St. John’s (N.Y.)



6: Kim Williams, Florida State
(last loss: 2008 NCAA Indoor Championships, 2nd place to Erica McLain)


2: Brianne Theisen, Oregon (last loss: 3/13/09, NCAA Indoor Championships, 3rd place)