Chris Derrick of Stanford Named Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year for 2010 Division I Cross Country Season

Chris Derrick of Stanford Named Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year for 2010 Division I Cross Country Season

NEW ORLEANS – Chris Derrick of Stanford University was named the USTFCCCA NCAA Division I Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year for the 2010 cross country season on Monday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). Derrick was the fifth-place individual finisher at the 2010 NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships in November.

Scholar Athletes are determined from among those who earned All-Academic status and placed highest individually at the most recent NCAA Championships.

Cross Country Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year – Chris Derrick, Stanford

Derrick, an economics major with a 3.84 cumulative GPA, placed fifth at the NCAA Cross Country Championships in the fall. The native of Naperville, Ill., was among the Stanford trio, along with Jake Riley and Elliott Heath, to have swept the top three at the Pac-10 Cross Country Championships and at the Pre-National Invitational. Derrick was the 2009 Pac-10 Cross Country Champion.

Derrick is the first from Stanford to win the award since Neftalem Araia in 2006.

Past Winners

2010: Chris Derrick, Stanford

2009: David McNeill, Northern Arizona

2008: Galen Rupp, Oregon

2007: Galen Rupp, Oregon

2006: Neftalem Araia, Stanford

56 Earn All-Academic Status

In addition to the Scholar Athlete of the Year, the USTFCCCA also announced those who earned 2010 Division I All-Academic Cross Country status.

A total of 56 student-athletes represent 42 institutions that compose the group. Oklahoma led all schools with four honorees while Richmond, Villanova, and Wisconsin followed with three each. The Big East and Big 12 led all conferences in the nation as each has nine representing their respective conferences. The Big Ten followed with eight.

Four of the top ten finishers at the 2010 NCAA Cross Country Championships earned All-Academic status, including Derrick, German Fernandez (Oklahoma State), Colby Lowe (Oklahoma State), and Mohammed Ahmed (Wisconsin). In addition, four NCAA Regional Champions from the 2010 season earned All-Academic standing.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have either earned USTFCCCA All-America status or finished in the NCAA region’s top 15 (or top 10 percent) in 2010.

USTFCCCA 2010 Division I Cross Country All-Academic Honorees, MEN

Ben Engelhardt Arizona State University
Miles Batty Brigham Young University
Charles Gillespie College of William and Mary
Adrien Dannemiller Cornell University
Phil Royer Dartmouth College
Terefe Ejigu Eastern Michigan University
Michael Fout Florida State University
Ciaran O’Lionaird Florida State University
Mark Dennin Georgetown University
Andrew Springer Georgetown University
Daniel Chenoweth Harvard University
Michael Disher Indiana State University
Andy Bayer Indiana University, Bloomington
Andrew Poore Indiana University, Bloomington
Mitch Goose Iona College
Hillary Bor Iowa State University
Evans Kosgei Lehigh University
Josh Edmonds Liberty University
Andrew Colley North Carolina State University
David McNeill Northern Arizona University
German Fernandez Oklahoma State University
Colby Lowe Oklahoma State University
Mark Amirault Princeton University
Stephen Schulz Purdue University
Chris Derrick Stanford University
Elliott Heath Stanford University
Patrick Dupont Syracuse University
Kevin Burnett Texas A&M University, College Station
Jeremy Drenckhahn U.S. Air Force Academy
Lane Boyer University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Eric Finan University of Cincinnati
Chris Lemon University of Dayton
James Uthmeier University of Florida
Michael Eaton University of Louisville
Greg Kelsey University of Maryland, College Park
Craig Forys University of Michigan
Michael Torchia University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Barnabas Kirui University of Mississippi
David Adams University of Nebraska, Lincoln
Jordan Carlson University of Notre Dame
George Alex University of Oklahoma
Bill Kogel University of Oklahoma
Rob Sorrell University of Oklahoma
Kevin Williams University of Oklahoma
Lars Erik Malde University of Portland
Andrew Benford University of Richmond
Matt Llano University of Richmond
Tim Quinn University of Richmond
Mohammed Ahmed University of Wisconsin, Madison
Reed Connor University of Wisconsin, Madison
Elliot Krause University of Wisconsin, Madison
Hugo Beamish Villanova University
Brian Long Villanova University
Mathew Mildenhall Villanova University
Shadrack Kipchirchir Western Kentucky University
Jeffrey Perrella Yale University