Newly-Minted Head Coaches Gramarosso, Ebel Lead Teams to National Titles, Are D-III Coaches of the Year

Newly-Minted Head Coaches Gramarosso, Ebel Lead Teams to National Titles, Are D-III Coaches of the Year

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announces the National Coaches and Assistant Coaches of the Year for the 2011 NCAA Division III Indoor Track & Field season. Both Frank Gramarosso of North Central (Ill.) and Pat Ebel of UW Oshkosh have been with their respective programs for quite a while and are now newly-minted head coaches, having both replaced legends of the sport. This year, both won NCAA team titles with their teams and were named National Men’s and Women’s Coaches of the Year, respectively, for the indoor season. In addition, Central College’s Guy Mosher was named National Men’s Assistant Coach of the Year while Buffalo State’s Markus Allen was tabbed as National Women’s Assistant Coach of the Year.

National Men’s Coach of the Year
Frank Gramarosso, North Central (Ill.)

For North Central College, it was the Cardinals’ second-straight national crown, but it sure wasn’t easy for first-year coach Frank Gramarosso. NCC scored 45 points in the meet, and was closely stalked three other teams that finished within three points, including runner-up Central (Iowa) (44), third-place UW La Crosse (43), and fourth-place UW Oshkosh (42).

Gramarosso has been involved with North Central for 28 years, but was named head coach of the men’s track & field team in August 2010 as legendary coach Al Carius handed over the torch. Carius remains NCC’s cross country head coach and associate head coach of the track & field team.

The Cards had eight unique scorers in the meet, but was placed in good position due to a 2-4-7 finish (15 points) in the pole vault. Senior Mike Spain won the 5000 meters for North Central, and sophomores Dan Benton (400 meters) and Peter Geraghty (pole vault) claimed runner-up performances in their respective events.

The CCIW conference champion, North Central was ranked No. 1 nationally throughout the season. Gramarosso works primarily with the Cardinals’ sprinters, which included ten All-CCIW performers.

Recent Winners:
2011: Frank Gramarosso, North Central (Ill.)
2010: Al Carius, North Central (Ill.)
2009: Toby Schwarz, Whitworth
2008: Walter Wandall, Moravian
2007: Roger Haynes, Monmouth


National Men’s Assistant Coach of the Year
Guy Mosher, Central (Iowa)

Mosher, in this 20th year at Central College, helped the Dutch to a second-place national team finish in mentoring three-event scorer Ethan Miller and NCAA pentathlon champion Kurtis Brondyke to 36 of the team’s 44 points at the national championships. Miller, the USTFCCCA National Men’s Field Athlete of the Year, won the NCAA title in the high jump and placed runner-up in the long jump and pentathlon.

Central was the champions of IIAC with Mosher’s athletes scoring most of the team’s points.

Recent Winners:
2011: Guy Mosher, Central (Iowa)
2010: Tim Winder, North Central (Ill.)


National Women’s Coach of the Year
Pat Ebel, UW Oshkosh

For the women of UW Oshkosh a national team title was a record breaker. Since 2006, the squad has been tied with Christopher Newport for most NCAA Division III indoor women’s national team titles with six apiece. Now with the crown, the Titans won their seventh D-III indoor women’s title, the most among all teams.

Ebel, who has been involved with UW Oshkosh since 2002, took the reins as head coach in the fall of 2009. Ebel replaced long-time coach Deb Vercauteren.

Oshkosh scored 46½ points for the national team crown, but was closely finished by two-time defending champs Wartburg (44). Senior Holly Ozanich won national titles in the shot put and weight throw as the Titans scored 33 of their tally in the throwing events – Ebel’s specialty.

Recent Winners:
2011: Pat Ebel, UW Oshkosh
2010: Marcus Newsom, Wartburg
2009: Marcus Newsom, Wartburg
2008: Chris Schumacher, Illinois Wesleyan
2007: Marcus Newsom, Wartburg


National Women’s Assistant Coach of the Year
Markus Allen, Buffalo State

Allen mentored junior sprinter Erica Johnson to a NCAA crown in the 55-meter dash. For Buffalo State, it’s the school’s first indoor national women’s champion.

Allen’s sprinters scored 91 of the team’s 124 points at SUNYAC Championships and all 50 of the team’s points at ECACs.  In his fifth year at the program, his athletes recorded the fastest D-III 4×200 of the season that was also a school and ECAC record, the third fastest D-III 200, and the top-ranked mark at 55 meters.

While not considered for this award, Allen also helped men Justin Allen to a 400-meter national title and Xavier Mateen to a share of the NCAA 55-meter crown.

Recent Winners:
2011: Markus Allen, Buffalo State
2010: Katie Wagner, UW La Crosse