Adams State Claims Third USTFCCCA Men’s Program of the Year Title

By Tom Lewis, USTFCCCA

June 2, 2011   

NEW ORLEANS – The men’s program at Adams State College is the winner of the USTFCCCA Division II Program of the Year for the third-consecutive time. In the 2010-2011 academic year, the Grizzlies claimed a third-straight NCAA cross country title, placed seventh at the NCAA indoor track & field championships, and, most recently, was the nation’s runner-up at the NCAA outdoor track & field championships. The USTFCCCA Program of the Year award is given to an institution that had the best combined team finishes in each of the NCAA’s cross country/track & field sports in a given academic year.

Division II Men’s Program of the Year Winners

2010-2011: Adams State (1st), Abilene Christian (2nd), Central Missouri (3rd)
: Adams State (1st), Pittsburg State (2nd), Western Washington (3rd)
2008-2009: Adams State (1st), Abilene Christian (2nd), Western State (3rd)

Adams State scored ten points for the award win, seven ahead of runner-up Abilene Christian who took home both NCAA Division II track & field national team titles in 2011. Abilene Christian scored 17 points total after adding in a 15th-place finish from the fall’s NCAA cross country championships. ACU also finished second in the Program of the Year standings in 2008-2009.

At third place, Central Missouri claimed their first top-three finish in the Program of the Year race. The Mules scored 28 points which included a fourth-place “trophy” finish indoors.

A total of 14 teams scored in each of the three Division II national championships this academic year.

The NCAA Division II Program of the Year Award is awarded annually to the most outstanding cross country/track & field programs.  The award honors the institution that has achieved the most success in each academic year (spanning the cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field seasons) based on the institution’s finish at the NCAA Division II Championships.

In order to be eligible for the award, teams must qualify for each of the NCAA Championships.  Scoring is based on the team’s finish at each NCAA Division II Championship in cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field (i.e. 1st = 1 point, 2nd = 2 points, 31st = 31 points) with the lowest total score for all three championships combined determining the award recipient. Ties among schools split points for positions taken.

Program of the Year Award Standings (Top 5 FINAL)
Men’s Division II


Adams State

10 pts


Abilene Christian

17 pts


Central Missouri

28 pts


Augustana (S.D.)

30½ pts


Grand Valley State

40 pts