Head and Assistant Coaches Named for Division III Outdoor Season

Head and Assistant Coaches Named for Division III Outdoor Season

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Friday the nation’s top leaders as voted by the coaches of NCAA’s Division III for the 2011 outdoor season. North Central’s Frank Gramarosso and UW-Oshkosh’s Pat Ebel was named National Coaches of the Year while Central’s Guy Mosher and North Central’s Mahesh Narayanan was named the top assistants of the division.

NATIONAL MEN’S COACH OF THE YEAR: Frank Gramarosso, North Central (Ill.)

Gramarosso led the Cardinals to their second-straight NCAA outdoor track & field title as the Cardinals squeaked out the nation’s top spot with a 58-56 victory over runner-up UW-La Crosse. North Central had individual crowns by Dan Benton (400 meters), Peter Geraghty (pole vault), and Mike Spain (5,000 and 10,000 meters).

The Cards also captured the CCIW Championship title this season.

Past Winners:
2011: Frank Gramarosso, North Central (Ill.)
2010: Al Carius, North Central (Ill.)
2009: John Zupanc, UW-Oshkosh
2008: Paul Olsen, Augustana (Ill.)




Ebel led the Titans to their first NCAA national outdoor title since 2007 with a dominating performance at the national meet, scoring 80 points and topping runner-up Wartburg by 21 points. UW-Oshkosh also won the WIAC Conference Championship title, and Ebel was named the WIAC Coach of the Year. Coaches the throwing events for the Titans, Ebel coached athletes that scored 54 points at the national meet, including a first-place sweep of the shot put, discus, and hammer throw.

Past Winners:
2011: Pat Ebel, UW-Oshkosh
2010: Chris Schumacher, Illinois Wesleyan
2009: Marcus Newsom, Wartburg
2008: Patrick Zarate, Texas Lutheran




In his 20th year coaching the sprints, jumps, hurdles and combined events, Mosher had five athletes earn entries into the NCAA championship field. Pupils Ethan Miller and Kurtis Brondyke went 1-2 at the NCAA meet in the decathlon while Miller added a third-place showing in the long jump.

Past Winners:
2011: Guy Mosher, Central (Iowa)
2010: Guy Mosher, Central (Iowa)
2009: Tim Springfield, St. Thomas (Minn.)
2008: Marchan Adkins, Illinois Wesleyan


NATIONAL WOMEN’S ASSISTANT COACH OF THE YEAR: Mahesh Narayanan, North Central (Ill.)

Narayanan qualified four in distance events to the NCAA Championships and Amanda Laesch placed third nationally in the 5000 meters and fourth in the 10,000 meters. At the CCIW Championships, middle- and long-distance runners scored in every event to earn 60 points of the team’s 236 points.

Past Winners:
2011: Mahesh Narayanan, North Central (Ill.)
2010: Justin Lindsey, TCNJ
2009: Travis Erickson, UW-Oshkosh
2008: Marc Mangiacotti, Wheaton (Mass.)