Program of the Year Award – Standings Updates

Program of the Year Award – Standings Updates

NEW ORLEANS – With the completion of this past weekend’s NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships, the collegiate cross country and track & field year is two thirds complete with only the outdoor season remaining.

That means that two of the three components of the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Program of the Year Award are in the books.

How do the standings look for the award for each of the three NCAA Divisions for both genders? Find out below.

What is the USTFCCCA Program of the Year Award? The award honors the institution that has achieved the most success in each academic year (spanning the cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field seasons) based on the institution’s finish at the NCAA Championships.

In order to be eligible for the award, teams must qualify for each of the NCAA Championships.  Scoring is based on the team’s finish at each NCAA Championship in cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field (i.e. 1st = 1 point, 2nd = 2 points, 31st = 31 points) with the lowest total score for all three championships combined determining the award recipient. Ties among schools split points for positions taken.

NCAA Division I


NCAA Division I Program of the Year Standings

Men’s Team Points Women’s Team Points
1. Oregon 7 1. Arkansas 6
2. Oklahoma State 22.5 2. Oregon 8
3. Wisconsin 29.5 3. Stanford 22
4. Colorado 30 4. Providence 24
5. Arkansas 31 5. Michigan State 25.5


Oregon’s women have won each of the six Terry Crawford Women’s Division I Program of the Year Awards that have been bestowed by the USTFCCCA, but that could change this year.

Fresh off its first-ever women’s team national title in any sport this weekend at the NCAA Indoor Championships, Arkansas narrowly leads the Program of the Year race through two seasons over Oregon, six points to eight. The Razorbacks were fifth at NCAA XC to Oregon’s sixth, and the champions indoor to Oregon’s runner-up.

Oregon will need to finish three spots ahead of Arkansas at the NCAA Outdoor Championships to win a seventh Program of the Year title in a row.

Competition to round out the top three should be tight, as Stanford checked in third with 22 points, followed by Providence with 24 and cross country champion Michigan State with 25½.

With their NCAA Indoor team title this past weekend alongside a sixth-place finish at the NCAA Cross Country Championships, the Oregon men are firmly buckled into the driver’s seat to win their second consecutive John McDonnell Men’s Division I Program of the Year Award. The Ducks have seven points (first and sixth), with second place Oklahoma State well behind with 22½ and third-place Wisconsin sitting at 29½.

The race for the top three spots should be intense with Colorado at 30, Arkansas at 31 and Texas at 32.

NCAA Division II

NCAA Division II Program of the Year Standings

Men’s Team Points Women’s Team Points
1. Adams State 2 1. Hillsdale 4
2. Grand Valley State 4.5 2. Grand Valley State 7
3. Ashland 14 3. Simon Fraser 14
3. Southern Indiana 14 4. Adams State 16
5. Western State 15 5. Winona StateState 26.5


The Adams State men may have won both of the national team titles this season – most recently the indoor track & field team title this past weekend – but they are far from assured their seventh consecutive Damon Martin Men’s Division II Program of the Year Award. The Grizzlies have a stout two points, but the Grand Valley State men are just behind with 4½ after a runner-up cross country finish and a runner-up tie at indoors.

A struggle is developing for the third spot with Ashland and Southern Indiana both tied at 14 points, with Western State just behind at 15 and Colorado Mines at 17.

The lowest scoring team from both genders and all three NCAA Divisions that has not won a national title in 2014-15 is the Hillsdale women’s team. The Chargers lead the Jerry Baltes Women’s Division II Program of the Year standings with four points after runner-up finishes both in cross country and in indoor track & field this past weekend.

All the Chargers will have to do is finish within two spots of the second-place Grand Valley State women at the NCAA Outdoor Championships – held at Grand Valley – to take the title outright from the five-time winners of the award. The Lakers checked in with seven points after a sixth-place indoor finish to follow up on their cross country title.

The third spot is still up in the air with Simon Fraser currently third with 14 points and defending winner Adams State fourth at 16.

NCAA Division III

NCAA Division IIII Program of the Year Standings

Men’s Team Points Women’s Team Points
1. UW-La Crosse 5 1. MIT 6.5
2. North Central (Ill.) 6 2. UW-La Crosse 14
3. St. Olaf 6 3. Middlebury 16
3. UW-Eau Claire 8 4. Washington (Mo.) 16
5. Mount Union 31 5. Johns Hopkins 17.5


Across all three NCAA Divisions and between both genders, no Program of the Year race is as close as that for the Al Carius Men’s Division III Program of the Year Award.

UW-La Crosse, the two-time defending Program of the Year winner, has the lead through two seasons at five points, including a runner-up indoor finish this past weekend.

Three more teams are within three points of the Eagles, including two programs that already have national titles to their name this academic year. Both cross country champion North Central (Ill.) and St. Olaf are tied at six points, while indoor champion UW-Eau Claire checked in with eight points.

One of those four teams will likely win the award, as Mount Union is fifth at 31 points.

In the race for the Deb Vercauteren Women’s Division III Program of the Year Award, MIT has emerged as the frontrunner through two seasons. The Engineers added a fourth-place tie indoors to their runner-up finish in cross country for six-and-a-half points, followed by indoor champion UW-La Crosse with 14 points.

Spots two through seven, led by UW-La Crosse, are bunched relatively closely together. Middlebury and Washington (Mo.) both have 16 points, followed by Johns Hopkins with 17½, UW-Eau Claire with 21½ and St. Lawrence with 22.