NCAA DI Indoors: Breaking Down The Qualified Entries

The NCAA released provisional entry lists for the 2018 NCAA Division I Indoor Track & Field Championships next weekend in College Station, Texas.

Men and women who finished in the top-16 of individual events on the final Descending Order List qualified, as did the top-12 relays from each gender.

Official NCAA Announcement
Entry Lists: By Conference | By Team

Let’s take a closer look at those lists.

Overall, 93 men’s programs and 84 women’s programs will be represented in the Lone Star State.

On a conference level, the SEC had the most women’s and men’s entries with 81 and 63, respectively. Three different women’s programs from the SEC had 10 or more qualified entries for NCAAs – Arkansas (12), Georgia (11) and Kentucky (10) – compared to just one men’s team, which was Arkansas (10).

Next up on the conference level with 75 combined entries is the Pac-12. Oregon and Southern California pace the Pac-12 with 18 combined entries each. The Women of Oregon and Women of Troy own 23 of those entries with 12 and 11, respectively.

It shouldn’t come as a surprise that the SEC and Pac-12 are dominant at the championship level. In fact, 19 of the past 20 men’s and women’s team champions have come from those conferences with Wisconsin’s men serving as the only outlier in 2007.

Speaking of the Badgers, their conference – the Big Ten – totaled 70 entries to NCAAs, but didn’t have a single program with more than 10. Instead, it was a combined effort with the men of Penn State, Indiana, Nebraska and Ohio State and the women of Minnesota, Iowa and Wisconsin with five or more entries each.

Then you have the ACC and Big 12 with 58 combined entries apiece. Florida State leads the charge from those conferences with 13 entries between its rosters.

Be sure to check back next Monday as we unveil the final NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s National Team Rankings of the season. Those will only include qualified entries to NCAAs and it will be a true barometer for which teams have the inside lane to a national title in 2018.