All-Academic Individuals & Scholar Athletes of the Year – 2018 NAIA Men’s Track & Field

NEW ORLEANSTre Hinds of Wayland Baptist (Texas), Seth Gretz of Oregon Tech, Tony Weber of Saint Mary (Kan.) and Henry Arnold of Doane (Neb.) were named the Men’s Scholar Athletes of the Year in NAIA Track & Field on Thursday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Combining their accomplishments in the classroom and in competition during the recently completed academic year, these four men were the most exceptional among a group of 89 men who earned USTFCCCA All-Academic honors.

Scholar Athletes of the Year were selected as the highest finishing performers at the 2018 NAIA Indoor and Outdoor Track & Field Championships who achieved All-Academic status. Those athletes who won individual NCAA titles ranked higher in the tie-breaking process and cumulative GPA is weighed as the final advantage.

Separate awards are given to track athletes and field athletes for the indoor and outdoor seasons, hence the four categories.

Hinds, a junior who is majoring in Business Administration and has a cumulative GPA of 3.83, was named the Men’s Indoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year. The native of Ashton Hall, Barbados, shined at the NAIA Indoor Championships with a victory in the 600 meters and he anchored the Pioneers’ title-winning 4×800 relay team.

Gretz, a graduated senior who majored in Business with a GPA of 3.58, was named the Men’s Indoor Field Scholar Athlete of the Year. The native of Rogue River, Oregon, placed third in the heptathlon with a total score of 5057 points, 163 points better than his seed of 4894.

Weber, a graduated senior who majored in Accounting with a GPA of 4.00, was named the Men’s Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year. The native of Leavenworth, Kansas, won the marathon title with a time of 2:35:04.47, nearly three minutes ahead of teammate Christian Graham. Weber also doubled back in the 10,000, an event in which he placed second.

Arnold, a sophomore who is majoring in Physical Education with a GPA of 3.47, was named the Men’s Outdoor Field Scholar Athlete of the Year. The native of Falls City, Nebraska, placed fourth in the triple jump with an effort of 14.84m (48-8¼).

All-Academic Individuals

Including the Scholar Athletes of the Year, a total of 89 men earned USTFCCCA All-Academic honors during the 2017-18 track & field seasons.

To qualify for USTFCCCA All-Academic honors, the student-athlete must meet all three of the following standards:

    1. Cumulative GPA: 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale, including the most recent grading period, certifiable by either Faculty Rep or Compliance Coordinator or Registrar’s Office.

      1. Institutions utilizing a different GPA scale must convert the GPA to a 4.0 scale using the standard conversion method [GPA/Scale x 4.0].

    2. Athletic criteria for the award can be met in either the indoor season, the outdoor season, or both:

      1. For the indoor season: must have achieved an “A” or “B” standard in a Championship event, certifiable by their place on the NAIA descending order lists on TFRRS for Indoor Track and Field.

      2. For the outdoor season: must have achieved an “A” or “B” standard in a Championship event, certifiable by their place on the NAIA descending order lists on TFRRS for Outdoor Track and Field.

    3. Must have completed at least two (2) semesters or three (3) quarters at the certifying institution.

2018 USTFCCCA All-Academic Individuals – NAIA Men’s Track & Field

Name Institution
Simeon Windibiziri Baker University
Tyler Winsor Baker University
Peyton Besand Central Methodist University
Nick Peterson Clarke University
Tommy Skosky Columbia College
Evan Asche Concordia University, Nebraska
Jacob Cornelio Concordia University, Nebraska
Scott Johnson Concordia University, Nebraska
Nathan Matters Concordia University, Nebraska
Josiah McAllister Concordia University, Nebraska
Patrick Wortmann Concordia University, Nebraska
Maxwell Cruse Dakota State University
Alex Derr Dakota State University
Cameron Harming Dakota State University
Henry Arnold Doane University
Austin Becker Doane University
Richard Dover Doane University
Greg Gaston Doane University
Logan Hammond Doane University
Tanner Harsin Doane University
Scott Hild Doane University
Turner Hill Doane University
Andrew Klein Doane University
Drew McClellen Doane University
Josiah Oyebefun Doane University
Michael Shavlik Doane University
Michael Tross Doane University
Alan Varela Doane University
Alec Wick Doane University
Evan Wick Doane University
David Davelaar Dordt College
Gideon DeGraaf Dordt College
Anthony Ghiorso Dordt College
Caleb Herman Dordt College
Matthew Van Eps Dordt College
Ike Van Kempen Dordt College
Lucas Hidalgo Eastern Oregon University
Lane Inwards Eastern Oregon University
Nic Maszk Eastern Oregon University
Cooper Shaw Eastern Oregon University
Austin Hill Grand View University
Chance Tatman Grand View University
Anthony Wilson Grand View University
Seth Reynolds Indiana University East
Joel Boozer Lewis-Clark State College
Owen Lanning Lewis-Clark State College
Cole Olsen Lewis-Clark State College
Thomas Weakland Lewis-Clark State College
Adam Vincent Missouri Baptist University
Connor Duncan Montreat College
Rylan Hincher Montreat College
Riley Sine Northwest University
Hans Epp Northwestern College
Tanner Goetsch Northwestern College
Peter Hollinger Northwestern College
Jackson Johnson Northwestern College
Aaron Lemon Northwestern College
Peter Smith Northwestern College
Max McNeill Oklahoma City University
Ryan Nielsen Oklahoma City University
Mark French Oregon Institute of Technology
Seth Gretz Oregon Institute of Technology
Jack Roberts Oregon Institute of Technology
Angel Valdez Oregon Institute of Technology
Paul Wyatt Oregon Institute of Technology
Andre Lowery Point Park University
Dezric Cook Reinhardt University
Jose Diaz Reinhardt University
Jackson Helfrich Reinhardt University
Brent Rodden Siena Heights University
Jack Evans Soka University
Craig Lantz Southwestern College
Trajen Smith Tabor College
Devonte Fletcher Tennessee Wesleyan University
Chaz Hawkins Tennessee Wesleyan University
Caleb DeWeerd Trinity Christian College
Matthew Young University of Jamestown
James Gerber University of Providence
Peyton Jones University of Providence
Johnathan Bowen University of Saint Mary
Christian Graham University of Saint Mary
Luke Skinner University of Saint Mary
Nick Thomas University of Saint Mary
Eric Vazquez University of Saint Mary
Anthony Weber University of Saint Mary
Tre Hinds Wayland Baptist University
Sonwabiso Skhosana Wayland Baptist University
Eric Villagrana Wayland Baptist University
Derek Robinson William Penn University