They’re Coming Back Four More At NCAA DI Outdoor Championships

It’s tough enough to make it to the final site of the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships once, let alone four times.

From The InfoZone: National Championships Central

An athlete must first register a mark that qualifies them for either the NCAA Division I East or West Preliminary Round and then fight through one or two rounds of competition – depending on their event – to finally punch a ticket.

Yet, there are 31 athletes making their fourth career appearance at the final site in their respective events this year, of which includes eight former champions.

Click here to see a list of athletes making their fourth career appearance at the #NCAATF final site.
Name Program Event Best Finish
Mar’yea Harris Iowa Men’s 400 Meters 4th (2018)
Obi Igbokwe Houston Men’s 400 Meters 6th (2018)
Wil London Baylor Men’s 400 Meters 8th (Twice)
Bailey Roth Arizona Men’s Steeplechase 11th (2017)
Grant Fisher Stanford Men’s 5000 Meters 1st (2017)
Lawrence Kipkoech Campbell Men’s 10,000 Meters 9th (2016)
Amere Lattin Houston Men’s 110 Hurdles 5th (2016)
Taylor McLaughlin Michigan Men’s 400 Hurdles 5th (Twice)
Keenon Laine Georgia Men’s High Jump 3rd (2018)
Matt Ludwig Akron Men’s Pole Vault 1st (2017)
Jacob Wooten Texas A&M Men’s Pole Vault 4th (2018)
Denzel Comenentia Georgia Men’s HT & SP 1st & 1st (2018)
Brett Neelly Kansas State Men’s DT & SP 8th SP (2016)
Oghenakpobo Efekoro Virginia Men’s Shot Put 4th (2017)
Curtis Thompson Mississippi State Men’s Javelin 1st (2016)
Chris Mirabelli Rutgers Men’s Javelin 8th (2017)
Harrison Williams Stanford Men’s Decathlon 4th (2015)
Kianna Gray Kentucky Women’s 100 Meters 7th (2016)
Briyahna Desrosiers Oregon Women’s 400 Meters 6th (2018)
Jazmine Fray Texas A&M Women’s 800 Meters 8th (2018)
Alaysha Johnson Texas Tech Women’s 100 Hurdles 4th (2017)
Ranae McKenzie Kansas State Women’s 400 Hurdles 5th (2018)
Zarriea Willis Texas Tech Women’s High Jump 6th (2018)
Olivia Gruver Washington Women’s Pole Vault 1st (2017/2018)
Lexi Jacobus Arkansas Women’s Pole Vault 1st (2016)
Tori Hoggard Arkansas Women’s Pole Vault 6th (2017)
Yanis David Florida Women’s LJ & TJ 4th/2nd (2018)
Shadae Lawrence Colorado State Women’s Discus 1st (2017)
Mackenzie Little Stanford Women’s Javelin 1st (2018)
Brittni Wolczyk Nebraska Women’s Javelin 11th (2016)
Madalaine Stulce Texas A&M Women’s Javelin 21st (Twice)


Here a list of those former champions, if you want to see it outside of the table format.

  • Grant Fisher, Stanford – Men’s 5000 Meters (2017)
  • Matt Ludwig, Akron – Men’s Pole Vault (2017)
  • Denzel Comenentia, Georgia – Men’s Hammer (2018) & Shot Put (2018)
  • Curtis Thompson, Mississippi State – Men’s Javelin (2016)
  • Olivia Gruver, Washington – Women’s Pole Vault (2017 & 2018)
  • Lexi Jacobus, Arkansas – Women’s Pole Vault (2016)
  • Shadae Lawrence, Colorado State – Women’s Discus (2017)
  • Mackenzie Little, Stanford – Women’s Javelin (2018)

There are 15 athletes who have trended in the right direction during their past apperances, meaning that they’ve improved their standing each year they’ve competed. Of those 15 athletes, 11 are looking to cap their collegiate careers with their first outdoor title.

  • Mar’yea Harris, Iowa – Men’s 400 Meters
  • Obi Igbowkwe, Houston – Men’s 400 Meters
  • Wil London, Baylor – Men’s 400 Meters
  • Taylor McLaughlin, Michigan – Men’s 400 Hurdles
  • Kennon Laine, Georgia – Men’s High Jump
  • Jacob Wooten, Texas A&M – Men’s Pole Vault
  • Chris Mirabelli, Rutgers – Men’s Javelin
  • Briyahna Desrosiers, Oregon – Women’s 400 Meters
  • Jazmine Fray, Texas A&M – Women’s 800 Meters
  • Zarriea Willis, Texas Tech – Women’s High Jump
  • Yanis David, Florida – Women’s Long Jump & Triple Jump

Needless to say, it could very well be the end of an era as each of those athletes listed above have been a fixture at the NCAA DI Outdoor Championships since their freshman year.