George Dales Award

Last updated: August 13, 2019

Here is a list of coaches who have won the George Dales Award since its inception in 2006.

The George Dales Award is named in honor of longtime Western Michigan coach George Dales for his relentless pursuit in the growth and development of track and field and cross country over more than half of a century. This award is presented annually by the USTFCCCA at its convention to a distinguished individual who, through their efforts, has enhanced the profession of coaching track and field and cross country.

Past Winners

2018: Dr. Joe Vigil, Adams State
2017: Harry Marra, Oregon/professional
2016: Al Carius, North Central (Ill.)
2015: Irving “Boo” Schexnayder, LSU
2014: Dr. Rick McGuire, Missouri
2013: Bill Falk, Rhode Island
2012: Ed Temple, Tennessee State
2011: Sam Bell, Indiana
2010: Stan Huntsman, Texas
2009: Dr. Leroy Walker, North Carolina Central
2008: Steve Simmons, Cal Poly
2007: Victor Lopez, Rice
2006: George Dales, Western Michigan