Award History
USTFCCCA XC High School State COY

2018 USTFCCCA High School Cross Country Coaches of the Year – State-By-State Winners

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced the state-by-state winners of its fourth annual High School Coach of the Year award for cross country on Wednesday.

One boys coach and one girls coach from each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia – as seen in the lists below – were honored for their successes during the fall of 2018, as selected by a committee of experts from around the nation.

QUICK LINKS: Boys Coaches | Girls Coaches

State-by-state winners were selected based on their teams’ performances throughout the 2018 cross country season. Among the factors taken into consideration were team score and placement at the state championships, margin of victory, performance against rankings if available, individual championships, and how their teams’ performances stacked up to previous years (e.g. first title in school history, consecutive titles, etc.).

Each honoree will receive a trophy from the USTFCCCA recognizing his or her achievements.

The winners from each state are in consideration for the association’s National High School Cross Country Coach of the Year award. One boys coach and one girls coach from among all the states will be selected by a panel of experts and be announced later this month as the national winners.

The full lists can be seen below.

2018 USTFCCCA High School Boys Cross Country Coaches of the Year – State By State

State Name School
Alabama Ed Wright Montgomery Catholic Preparatory School
Alaska Tara Edwards Grace Christian School
Arizona Trina Painter Flagstaff High School
Arkansas Mike Power Bentonville High School
California Doug Soles Great Oak High School
Colorado Mark Stenbeck Dakota Ridge High School
Connecticut Chris Stonier Xavier High School
Delaware Dan O’Connell St Andrew’s School
District of Columbia John Ausema Gonzaga College High School
Florida Mike Rivera The Bolles School
Georgia Nick Wansley South Forsyth High School
Hawaii Jared Welch Maui High School
Idaho Cecil Jackson Salmon Jr/Sr High School
Illinois Chris Kuntz Wheaton Warrenville South High School
Indiana Colin Altevogt Carmel High School
Iowa Aaron Thomas Gilbert High School
Kansas Curtis Morgan Buhler High School
Kentucky Scott Holzknecht Trinity High School
Louisiana Pete Boudreaux Catholic High School
Maine Ted Hutch York High School
Maryland Giovanni Reumante Northwood High School
Massachusetts Don Hennigar Newburyport High School
Michigan Jeff Schember Caro High School
Minnesota Jamie Kirkpatrick Edina High School
Mississippi Greg Warnick Tupelo Christian Preparatory School
Missouri Michael Dierks Rockhurst High School
Montana Casey Jermyn Bozeman High School
Nebraska Brie Pulec Malcolm Junior/Senior High School
Nevada Chris Martinez Centennial High School
New Hampshire Mike Smith Mascenic Regional High School
New Jersey Sean McCafferty Christian Brothers Academy
New Mexico Rob Hipwood Los Alamos High School
New Mexico Kathy Hipwood Los Alamos High School
New York Bill Aris Fayetteville-Manlius High School
North Carolina Rick Spencer Weddington High School
North Dakota Shane Wahlstrom Williston High School
Ohio Jeff Howard Woodridge High School
Oklahoma Kelly Beck Piedmont High School
Oregon Dave Frank Central Catholic High School
Pennsylvania Carl Pennell Jenkintown Middle/High School
Rhode Island Jim Doyle Bishop Hendricken High School
South Carolina Max Mayo Hilton Head Island High School
South Dakota Eric Pooley Lincoln High School
Tennessee Marshall Smith Brentwood Academy
Texas Juris Green The Woodlands
Utah Jeff Hunt Monticello High School
Vermont Eric Langevin Essex High School
Virginia Marc Hunter Loudoun Valley High School
Washington Matt Rexus Kamiakin High School
West Virginia Holli Vaughan Ritchie County High School
Wisconsin Mike Jovanovich Neenah High School
Wyoming Ryan Berger Evanston High School


2018 USTFCCCA High School Girls Cross Country Coaches of the Year – State By State

State Name School
Alabama Naomi Bergh Auburn High School
Alaska Merry Ellefson Juneau-Douglas High School
Alaska Tristan Knutson-Lombardo Juneau-Douglas High School
Arizona Trina Painter Flagstaff High School
Arkansas Bill Burge Harrison High School
California Bill Reeves Claremont High School
Colorado Kelly Christensen Niwot High School
Connecticut Brian Hayes Immaculate High School
Delaware Jim Fischer Ursuline Academy
District of Columbia Emily Farrar Woodrow Wilson High School
Florida Mike Phillips Lawton Chiles High School
Georgia Jack Coleman Marietta High School
Hawaii Derek Coryell Hawaii Baptist Academy
Idaho Jeff Horsley Soda Springs High School
Illinois Dan Iverson Naperville North High School
Indiana Phil Yoder Carroll High School
Iowa Chad Willeford Southeast Polk High School
Kansas Chris McAfee Mill Valley High School
Kentucky Kirk Thomas Oldham County High School
Louisiana Mark LaHaye St. Joseph’s Academy
Maine Mike Burleson Bonny Eagle High School
Maryland Josh Dawson Northern High School
Massachusetts Marc Saucier Littleton High School
Michigan Kevin Breen Clarkston High School
Minnesota Heather Strait St. Michael-Albertville High School
Mississippi Tim McDaniel St. Patrick Catholic High School
Missouri Jesse Griffin Lee’s Summit West High School
Montana Anders Brooker Hellgate High School
Nebraska George O’Boyle Pius X Catholic High School
Nevada Todd Mahlke Spring Creek High School
New Hampshire Joe Scascitelli Exeter High School
New Jersey Sean Walsh North Hunterdon High School
New Mexico Adam Kedge Albuquerque Academy
New York Art Kranick Saratoga Springs High School
New York Linda Kranick Saratoga Springs High School
North Carolina Kirk Walsh Cuthbertson High School
North Dakota Jason Edwards Davies High School
Ohio Jessie Magoto Minster High School
Oklahoma Terry Stupp Bishop Kelley High School
Oregon Carol McLatchie Summit High School
Pennsylvania John Neff North Allegheny Senior High School
Rhode Island Jeff Rose Portsmouth High School
South Carolina Ashley Perry D.W. Daniel High School
South Dakota Don Ray Deubrook Junior / Senior High School
Tennessee Bobby Holcombe Webb School of Knoxville
Texas Nicholas Benton Coppell High School
Utah Cody Moat Millard High School
Vermont Scott Bliss Champlain Valley Union High School
Virginia Dan King Hidden Valley High School
Washington Dempsey Ortega North Central High School
West Virginia Larry Cassady Williamstown High School
Wisconsin Richard Raney Muskego High School
Wyoming Jeff Brazil Jackson Hole High School