Award History
USTFCCCA XC High School State COY

2020 USTFCCCA High School Cross Country Coaches of the Year – State-By-State

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced the state-by-state winners of its seventh annual High School Cross Country Coaches of the Year Presented by the United States Marine Corps on Friday.

One boys coach and one girls coach from 34 states – as seen in the lists below – were honored for their successes during the fall of 2020, as selected by a committee of experts from around the nation.

QUICK LINKS: Boys Coaches of the Year | Girls Coaches of the Year

State-by-state winners were selected based on their teams’ performances throughout the 2020 cross country season. Among the factors taken into consideration were team score and placement at the state championships, margin of victory, performance against rankings if available, individual championships, and how their teams’ performances stacked up to previous years (e.g. first title in school history, consecutive titles, etc.).

Each honoree will receive a trophy from the USTFCCCA recognizing his or her achievements.

The winners from each state are in consideration for the association’s National High School Cross Country Coach of the Year award. One boys coach and one girls coach from among all the states will be selected by a panel of experts and be announced later this month as the national winners.

The full lists can be seen below.

2020 USTFCCCA High School Boys Cross Country Coaches of the Year – State-By-State Winners

State Name School
Alabama Blake Borden Huntsville High School
Arizona Fermin Villagran Gilbert High School
Arkansas Brandon Smith Lake Hamilton High School
Colorado Kelly Christensen Niwot High School
Delaware Patrick Castagno The Tatnall School
Florida Doug Butler Satellite High School
Georgia Chad McDaniel Wesleyan School
Idaho Tyler Jones Preston High School
Iowa Abdier Marrero North High School
Kansas Lewis Wiebe Berean Academy
Kentucky Joe Buechler Holy Cross High School
Louisiana Tommy Schexnayder E. D. White Catholic High School
Maine Jim Harmon Scarborough High School
Michigan Cliff Somers Fremont High School
Minnesota John Maresh Prior Lake High School
Mississippi Shannon Knott Brookhaven High School
Missouri Neal Blackburn Rock Bridge High School
Montana Mark Albert Hamilton High School
Nebraska Steve Carroll Skutt Catholic High School
New Hampshire Tim Cox Coe-Brown Northwood Academy
New Hampshire Brent Tkaczyk Coe-Brown Northwood Academy
North Dakota Jonathan Jahner Bowman High School
Ohio Jeff Howard Woodridge High School
Oklahoma Mike McGarry Mustang High School
Pennsylvania Carl Pennell Jenkintown High School
Rhode Island Kenneth Skelly La Salle Academy
South Carolina Jeff Buys Dorman High School
South Dakota Luke Jelen Lincoln High School
Tennessee Dustin Carpenter Signal Mountain High School
Texas Justin Leonard Carroll Senior High School
Utah Jamie Alvizo Skyridge High School
Vermont Andrew Tripp U-32 High School
West Virginia Holli Haddox Vaughan Ritchie County High School
Wisconsin Jeff Jurss Sheboygan Lutheran High School
Wyoming Kevin Green Lander Valley High School

2020 USTFCCCA High School Girls Cross Country Coaches of the Year – State-By-State Winners

State Name School
Alabama Olivia Tofani Auburn High School
Arizona Michael Urbanski Salpointe Catholic High School
Arkansas Tiffany Surber West Fork High School
Colorado Julia Fuller Buena Vista High School
Delaware Marnie Giunta Padua Academy
Florida Ocky Clark Winter Springs High School
Georgia Jack Coleman Marietta High School
Idaho Aaron Olswanger Boise High School
Iowa Mark Hostetler Mid-Prairie High School
Kansas Mike Spielman Baldwin High School
Kentucky Tony Harden Bishop Brossart High School
Louisiana Laura Magann Episcopal School of Acadiana
Maine Mike Burleson Bonny Eagle High School
Michigan Terry Tatro Hart High School
Minnesota Brad Moening Highland Park Senior High School
Mississippi Charles Covington Saltillo High School
Missouri Don Barzowski Arcadia Valley High School
Montana Casey Jermyn Bozeman High School
Nebraska Ryan Underwood McCool Junction Public School
New Hampshire Eric Picconi Hanover High School
New Hampshire Dorcas Denhaartog Hanover High School
North Dakota Chase Gregory Williston High School
Ohio Denise Benson Lexington High School
Oklahoma Blake Collins Owasso High School
Pennsylvania John Neff North Allegheny Senior High School
Rhode Island Kelly Raso La Salle Academy
South Carolina Todd Prochaska J.L. Mann High School
South Dakota Aaron Strand O’Gorman High School
Tennessee Dustin Carpenter Signal Mountain High School
Texas Andrew Cook Flower Mound High School
Utah Ryan Bybee Lone Peak High School
Utah Courtney Meldrum Lone Peak High School
Vermont Scott Bliss Champlain Valley Union High School
West Virginia Larry Cassady Williamstown High School
Wisconsin Kraig Western Winneconne High School
Wyoming Jeff Brazil Jackson Hole High School