Award History
USTFCCCA XC High School State COY

2022 USTFCCCA High School State Cross Country Coaches of the Year

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced the state-by-state winners of its ninth annual High School Cross Country Coaches of the Year Presented by the United States Marine Corps on Wednesday.

One boys coach and one girls coach from 50 states – as well as the District of Columbia – were honored for their successes during the fall of 2022, as selected by a committee of experts from around the nation (two coaches are honored, if they share coaching responsibilities).

State-by-state winners were selected based on their teams’ performances throughout the 2022 cross country season. Among the factors taken into consideration were team score and placement at the state championships, margin of victory, performance against rankings if available, individual championships, and how their teams’ performances stacked up to previous years (e.g. first title in school history, consecutive titles, etc.).

Each honoree will receive a trophy from the USTFCCCA recognizing their achievements.

The winners from each state are in consideration for the association’s National High School Cross Country Coach of the Year award. One boys coach and one girls coach from among all the states will be selected by a panel of experts and be announced next month as the national winners.

The full lists can be seen below.

2022 USTFCCCA High School Boys Cross Country Coaches of the Year – State-by-State

State Name School
Alabama Ann-Marie Cook Bayshore Christian School
Alaska Norm Rousey Colony High School
Arizona Dave Montgomery Highland High School
Arkansas Mike Power Bentonville High School
California Dan Johnson San Clemente High School
Colorado Sean O’Day Cheyenne Mountain High School
Connecticut Jeff Billing Hall High School
Delaware Courtney Brinsky Middletown High School
District of Columbia Jim Ehrenhaft St. Albans School
Florida Francisco Ruiz Belen Jesuit Preparatory School
Georgia Jack Coleman Marietta High School
Hawaii Jack Kuo ‘Iolani School
Idaho Jack Ward Victory Charter High School
Illinois Jason Crowe Plainfield South High School
Indiana Gabe Porras Zionsville Community High School
Iowa Tim Ives Dowling Catholic High School
Kansas Justin Wrigley Saint Thomas Aquinas High School
Kentucky Ian Johnstone Conner High School
Louisiana Cullen Doody Jesuit High School
Maine Danielle Johnson Hampden Academy
Maryland Linda McShane Towson High School
Maryland Gil Stange Towson High School
Massachusetts Mike Glennon Brookline High School
Michigan Kristopher Koster The Potter’s House High School
Minnesota Mark Popp Wayzata High School
Mississippi Chris Barnett Pearl High School
Missouri Dave Chatlos Liberty North High School
Montana Casey Jermyn Bozeman High School
Nebraska Tony Neels Gothenburg High School
Nevada Todd Mahlke Spring Creek High School
New Hampshire Tim Cox Coe-Brown Northwood Academy
New Hampshire Brent Tkaczyk Coe-Brown Northwood Academy
New Jersey Sean McCafferty Christian Brothers Academy
New Mexico Phil Keller Rio Rancho High School
New York Ray  Lawson Corning-Painted Post High School
North Carolina Michael Curlee South Stanly High School
North Dakota Jonathan Jahner Bowman County High School
Ohio Melissa Graham-Perkins Marlington High School
Oklahoma Jarret Kachel Hooker High School
Oregon Tom Rothenberger Jesuit High School
Pennsylvania Mike Sample Grove City High School
Rhode Island Jim Doyle Bishop Hendricken High School
South Carolina Bret Davis Wando High School
South Dakota Jesse  Coy Stevens High School
Tennessee Chelsea Osborne Farragut High School
Texas Rick Miller Grapevine High School
Utah Cody Moat Millard High School
Vermont Chip Langmaid St.Johnsbury Academy
Virginia Garrett Kroner W. T. Woodson High School
Washington Andrew Walker Seattle Preparatory School
West Virginia Ed Frohnapfel University High School
Wisconsin Kevin Hopp Stevens Point Area Senior High School
Wyoming Isaac Kiefer Mountain View High School

2022 USTFCCCA High School Girls Cross Country Coaches of the Year – State-by-State

State Name School
Alabama Clifford Lee Chelsea High School
Alaska Brian Kruchoski Chugiak High School
Arizona Matthew Hull Phoenix Country Day School
Arkansas Jim Andrews Greenwood High School
California Brian Weaver Buchanan High School
Colorado Chuck Schwartz Air Academy High School
Connecticut Brian Collins Glastonbury High School
Delaware Marnie Giunta Padua Academy
District of Columbia Desmond Dunham St. John’s College High School
Florida Peter Eagleson Osceola High School
Georgia Mary Souther Decatur High School
Hawaii Duncan MacDonald Punahou School
Idaho Tyler Jones Preston High School
Illinois Pete Wintermute Prospect High School
Indiana Aaron Becker Noblesville High School
Iowa Douglas Cutler Pella High School
Kansas Wade Caselman Southeast of Saline High School
Kentucky Tim Holman duPont Manual High School
Louisiana Mark LaHaye St. Joseph’s Academy
Maine Mike Burleson Bonny Eagle High School
Maryland Kellie  Redman Thomas S. Wootton High School
Massachusetts Mike DeYoung Brookline High School
Michigan Kyle Barnes West Ottawa High School
Minnesota Addy Hallen Wayzata High School
Mississippi David Hopper East Rankin Academy
Missouri Angela Poindexter St. Charles West High School
Montana Cindy Farmer Hardin High School
Nebraska Courtney Maas Wayne High School
Nevada Paul Sheppard Somerset Academy Sky Pointe
New Hampshire Dorcas DenHartog Hanover High School
New Hampshire Eric Picconi Hanover High School
New Jersey Todd Briggs Freehold Township High School
New Mexico Kathy Hipwood Los Alamos High School
New York Art Kranick Saratoga Springs High School
North Carolina Jerry Castro North Lincoln High School
North Dakota Bill Jansen Rugby High School
Ohio Jessie Magoto Minster High School
Oklahoma Kelly Beck Piedmont High School
Oregon Kari Strang Summit High School
Pennsylvania John Neff North Allegheny Senior High School
Rhode Island Erin Terry East Greenwich High School
South Carolina Tanner Graham Lexington High School
South Dakota  Luke VanderLeest Sioux Falls Christian School
Tennessee Bobby Holcombe Webb School of Knoxville
Texas Carly Littlefield Lovejoy High School
Utah Courtney Meldrum Lone Peak High School
Vermont Kaitlin White Essex High School
Virginia Chris Pellegrini West Springfield High School
Washington Jeremy Duplissey Central Kitsap High School
West Virginia Mike Ryan Morgantown High School
Wisconsin Katrina Beeck Muskego High School
Wyoming Maggie Kirkham Cody High School