NCAA Champs Hulleberg, Pavlus Earn National Athlete of the Year Titles

NCAA Champs Hulleberg, Pavlus Earn National Athlete of the Year Titles

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Monday that NCAA Division III Champions Anders Hulleberg of Haverford and Wendy Pavlus of St. Lawrence were named as National Athletes of the Year for the 2010 cross country season. Hulleberg led his team to their first national team title in school history while Pavlus won her second-consecutive individual national crown.

NCAA Championship Final Results: MEN | WOMEN

NATIONAL MALE ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Anders Hulleberg, Haverford

Hulleberg, a senior from Baltimore, Md., won the individual NCAA Division III Cross Country title with a 24:22.2 8k run, topping defending champ Michael Spain of North Central (Ill.) by two seconds. In addition, Hulleberg led the Fords (87 points) to the first NCAA title in the school’s athletics history.

Earlier in the season, Hulleberg won the NCAA Mideast Region individual crown with a nine-second victory and was also the Centennial Conference champion.

Past National Male Athlete’s of the Year

2009: Ricky Flynn, Lynchburg
2008: Peter Kosgei, Hamilton
2007: Tyger Sigl, UW Platteville
2006: Macharia Yuot, Widener
2005: Neal Holtschulte, Williams



The senior from Tupper Lake, N.Y., Pavlus won the individual NCAA crown for the second-straight year and bettered the field in this year’s race by 11 seconds in clocking a personal-best 20:49.3 on the 6k course. Pavlus became only the fourth woman to win back-to-back individual cross country crowns in NCAA Division III history.

Pavlus finished the season unbeaten against Division III competition as she won her third-consecutive NCAA Atlantic Region title to go along with victories in the Liberty League and NYSCTC Championships.


Past National Female Athlete’s of the Year

2009: Wendy Pavlus, St. Lawrence
2008: Marie Borner, Bethel (Minn.)
2007: Sarah Zerzan, Willamette
2006: Sarah Zerzan, Willamette
2005: Hailey Harren, Gustavus Adolphus


USTFCCCA 2010 National Award Winners, Division III, Cross Country

National Athlete of the Year: Andres Hulleberg, Haverford
National Coach of the Year: (announced Tuesday)

National Athlete of the Year: Wendy Pavlus, St. Lawrence
National Coach of the Year: (announced Tuesday)