For the Ducks, A Third-Straight Terry Crawford Women’s Program of the Year Nod
Award History
NCAA DI wTFXC Program of the Year

For the Ducks, A Third-Straight Terry Crawford Women’s Program of the Year Nod

NEW ORLEANS – The women’s program at the University of Oregon is the winner of the USTFCCCA’s Terry Crawford Program of the Year award for the 2010-2011 academic year. The Ducks, who have been the top-billed team in the program-wide competition for a third-straight year, won their second-consecutive NCAA Indoor Track & Field national team title in March, preceding a runner-up showing at the latest NCAA outdoor meet last weekend. The USTFCCCA Program of the Year award, now in its third year of existence, is given to an institution that had the best combined team finishes in each of the NCAA’s cross country/track & field sports in a given academic year.

Terry Crawford Women’s Division I Program of the Year Winners

2010-2011: Oregon (1st), Arizona (2nd), Villanova (3rd)
: Oregon (1st), Florida (2nd), Penn State (3rd)
2008-2009: Oregon (1st), Florida State (2nd), Arizona State (3rd)

The track & field finishes are combined with Oregon’s 12th-place NCAA cross country finish from the fall, giving the Ducks and the program’s director Vin Lananna 15 points — the best score of the competition.

In March, Oregon (67) produced a 29-point victory over runner-up Texas (38) for the NCAA Indoor Track & Field team championship. It was the largest margin of victory for a team since 1998 as the Ducks would claim three event titles. Sophomore Jordan Hasay lit up the track by winning national crowns in the mile and 3000 meters. Brianne Theisen broke her own collegiate record in winning the pentathlon with 4,540 points.

At the outdoor meet, the Ducks finished second with 45 points to three-time champ Texas A&M’s 49. Sophomore Anne Kesselring claimed the NCAA crown at 800 meters (2:02.15), and senior Melissa Gergel produced top-honors in the pole vault, equaling the championship record with a clear of 14-7¼ (4.45m).

In the fall, Hasay helped the Ducks to a 12th-place team finish at the national cross country championships. Hasay placed third overall in the six-kilometer race, the best finish by a Duck since 1991.

Arizona took second in the overall standings with 23½ points (11 XC, =7 ITF, 5 OTF), notching the best finish in their program’s history and improving from an eighth-place finish a year ago.

Cross country two-time NCAA team champion Villanova placed third overall in the Program of the Year standings with 24½ points. The Wildcats added a 12th-place indoor finish and 11th-place outdoor showing to their cross country crown.

A total of 18 programs scored at each of the NCAA’s championships in 2010-2011; however, none of the squads recorded top-ten finishes in each of the three meets.

The Terry Crawford Women’s Program of the Year Award is named after USTFCCCA Hall of Famer and former Cal Poly head coach Terry Crawford.  Crawford has won five NCAA National Championships, and over 20 Conference Championships.  Her 1986 Texas squad remains as the only NCAA women’s program to ever win the Triple Crown (cross country, indoor track and field, and outdoor track and field titles).

The NCAA Division I Program of the Year Awards are awarded annually to the most outstanding cross country/track & field programs.  The award honors the institution that has achieved the most success in each academic year (spanning the cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field seasons) based on the institution’s finish at the NCAA Division I Championships.

In order to be eligible for the award, teams must qualify for each of the NCAA Championships.  Scoring is based on the team’s finish at each NCAA Division I Championship in cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field (i.e. 1st = 1 point, 2nd = 2 points, 31st = 31 points) with the lowest total score for all three championships combined determining the award recipient. Ties among schools split points for positions taken.

Program of the Year Award Standings (Top Five FINAL)
Women’s Division I – Terry Crawford Award



15 pts



23½ pts



24½ pts



30½ pts


Florida State

32 pts