Oregon Wins Fourth Women’s Program of the Year Crown

Oregon Wins Fourth Women’s Program of the Year Crown

NEW ORLEANS – The women’s program at the University of Oregon is the winner of the USTFCCCA’s Terry Crawford Program of the Year award for the 2011-2012 academic year. A third-straight NCAA indoor track & field team title along with a second-place national outdoor showing propelled the Ducks to their fourth-straight Program of the Year crown. The USTFCCCA Program of the Year award, now in its fourth year of existence, is given to an institution that had the best combined team finishes in each of the NCAA’s cross country/track & field sports in a given academic year.

2011-2012 FINAL Standings (PDF) | Program of the Year Award History

Terry Crawford Women’s Division I Program of the Year Winners

2011-2012: Oregon (1st), Stanford (2nd), Villanova (3rd)
: Oregon (1st), Arizona (2nd), Villanova (3rd)
: Oregon (1st), Florida (2nd), Penn State (3rd)
2008-2009: Oregon (1st), Florida State (2nd), Arizona State (3rd)

The Ducks, led by Director of Track & Field Vin Lananna, notched an award record eight points (low score wins) with their combined finishes among the three sports. The indoor national crown and outdoor runner-up showing was added to Oregon’s fifth-place finish in cross country from the fall to produce the score.

The Pac-12 swept the award’s top three spots as Stanford reached a program best second place this year with 29½ points (10 XC, =13 ITF, 6 OTF). Washington, boosted by a runner-up national showing in cross country, claimed third for their best finish in award history with 35 points (2 XC, =23 ITF, 8 OTF).

A total of 16 programs scored at each of the NCAA’s championships in 2011-2012.

Georgetown, the NCAA Cross Country team champion, placed eighth overall in the final standings with 50½ points (1 XC, =16 ITF, 33 OTF).

The Terry Crawford Women’s Program of the Year Award is named after USTFCCCA Hall of Famer and former Cal Poly head coach Terry Crawford.  Crawford has won five NCAA National Championships, and over 20 Conference Championships.  Her 1986 Texas squad remains as the only NCAA women’s program to ever win the Triple Crown (cross country, indoor track and field, and outdoor track and field titles).

The NCAA Division I Program of the Year Awards are awarded annually to the most outstanding cross country/track & field programs.  The award honors the institution that has achieved the most success in each academic year (spanning the cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field seasons) based on the institution’s finish at the NCAA Division I Championships.

In order to be eligible for the award, teams must qualify for each of the NCAA Championships.  Scoring is based on the team’s finish at each NCAA Division I Championship in cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field (i.e. 1st = 1 point, 2nd = 2 points, 31st = 31 points) with the lowest total score for all three championships combined determining the award recipient. Ties among schools split points for positions taken.

Program of the Year Award Standings (Top Five FINAL)
Women’s Division I – Terry Crawford Award



8 pts



29½ pts



35 pts


Florida State

40 pts



41 pts