Stanford’s Chris Derrick is DI Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year Once Again
Award History
NCAA DI mXC All-Academic Athletes

Stanford’s Chris Derrick is DI Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year Once Again

NEW ORLEANS – Chris Derrick of Stanford University was named the USTFCCCA NCAA Division I Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year for the 2011 cross country season on Friday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). Derrick was the NCAA Division I cross country national runner-up during the 2011 fall season. Derrick also won the same award for the 2010 season.

Scholar Athletes are determined from among those who earned All-Academic status and placed highest individually at the most recent NCAA Championships.

Cross Country Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year – Chris Derrick, Stanford

Derrick, a senior from Naperville, Ill., has tallied a 3.87 cumulative GPA through the 2011 fall semester in the study of economics.

Derrick took runner-up honors at the NCAA Championships, NCAA West Regional, and the Pac-12 Championships this fall.

Stanford has won three of the last six awards in the category. As a league, the Pac-12 Conference has won five of the last six Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards for men’s Division I cross country.

Past Winners

2011: Chris Derrick, Stanford
2010: Chris Derrick, Stanford
2009: David McNeill, Northern Arizona
2008: Galen Rupp, Oregon
2007: Galen Rupp, Oregon
2006: Neftalem Araia, Stanford


58 Earn All-Academic Status

In addition to the Scholar Athlete of the Year, the USTFCCCA also announced those men who earned 2011 Division I All-Academic Cross Country status.

A total of 58 student-athletes represent the 36 institutions that compose the group. Oklahoma and Georgetown were the leading squads with four named to the All-Academic list. UNCG, BYU, and Oklahoma State followed with three apiece.

Big East Conference institutions claimed the most All-Academic nods among leagues with ten. The Big 12 followed with eight.

Twelve of the top 25 finishers at the NCAA Cross Country Championships earned All-Academic mentions.
To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have either earned USTFCCCA All-America status or finished in the NCAA region’s top 15 (or top 10 percent) in 2011.

USTFCCCA 2011 Division I Cross Country All-Academic Honorees, MEN

Miles Batty Brigham Young University
Rex Shields Brigham Young University
Jason Witt Brigham Young University
Dan Lowry Brown University
Ty McCormack Clemson University
Alex McGrath College of William and Mary
Nicolas Composto Columbia University
Michael Murphy Columbia University
John Bleday Dartmouth College
Ryan Hopkins Davidson College
Michael Fout Florida State University
Mark Dennin Georgetown University
TC Lumbar Georgetown University
Alex Lundy Georgetown University
Andrew Springer Georgetown University
Mitch Goose Iona College
Alexander Soderberg Iona College
Matt Johnsen Lamar University
Evans Kosgei Lehigh University
Heath Reedy Long Beach State University
Andrew Colley North Carolina State University
Bobby Moldovan North Carolina State University
Timothy Freriks Northern Arizona University
German Fernandez Oklahoma State University
Shadrack Kipchirchir Oklahoma State University
Colby Lowe Oklahoma State University
Chris Derrick Stanford University
Jacob Riley Stanford University
Patrick Dupont Syracuse University
Sean Keefe Syracuse University
Kevin Burnett Texas A&M University, College Station
James Pearson U.S. Naval Academy
Cody Rome U.S. Naval Academy
Eric Finan University of Cincinnati
Andy Wacker University of Colorado, Boulder
Mark Parrish University of Florida
Bobby Aprill University of Michigan
Craig Forys University of Michigan
Cosmas Ayabei University of Missouri, Kansas City
Paul Chelimo University of North Carolina, Greensboro
Paul Katam University of North Carolina, Greensboro
Joey Thompson University of North Carolina, Greensboro
Jordan Carlson University of Notre Dame
George Alex University of Oklahoma
Bill Kogel University of Oklahoma
Jeremy Sudbury University of Oklahoma
Kevin Williams University of Oklahoma
Lars Erik Malde University of Portland
Gilbert Kemboi University of South Carolina Upstate
Chris Berry University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Mark Amirault University of Virginia
Ryan Collins University of Wisconsin, Madison
Reed Connor University of Wisconsin, Madison
Elliot Krause University of Wisconsin, Madison
Brian McKenna Utah State University
Matthew Gibney Villanova University
Ryan Sheridan Villanova University
Andrew Kimpel Washington State University


MENMatt MillerBelmont  
MENDan LowryBrown  
MENMiles BattyBYU  
MENRex ShieldsBYU  
MENJason WittBYU  
MENChris BerryChattanooga  
MENEric FinanCincinnati  
MENTy McCormackClemson  
MENChristopher JohnsonColgate  
MENAndy WackerColorado  
MENNicolas CompostoColumbia  
MENMichael MurphyColumbia  
MENJohn BledayDartmouth  
MENRyan HopkinsDavidson  
MENMark ParrishFlorida  
MENMichael FoutFlorida State  
MENMark DenninGeorgetown  
MENTC LumbarGeorgetown  
MENAlex LundyGeorgetown  
MENAndrew SpringerGeorgetown  
MENMitch GooseIona  
MENAlexander SoderbergIona  
MENCosmas AyabeiKansas City  
MENMatt JohnsenLamar  
MENEvans KosgeiLehigh  
MENHeath ReedyLong Beach State  
MENBobby AprillMichigan  
MENCraig ForysMichigan  
MENJames PearsonNavy  
MENCody RomeNavy  
MENAndrew ColleyNC State  
MENBobby MoldovanNC State  
MENTimothy FreriksNorthern Arizona  
MENJordan CarlsonNotre Dame  
MENGeorge AlexOklahoma  
MENBill KogelOklahoma  
MENJeremy SudburyOklahoma  
MENKevin WilliamsOklahoma  
MENGerman FernandezOklahoma State  
MENShadrack KipchirchirOklahoma State  
MENColby LoweOklahoma State  
MENLars Erik MaldePortland  
MENChris DerrickStanford  
MENJacob RileyStanford  
MENPatrick DupontSyracuse  
MENSean KeefeSyracuse  
MENKevin BurnettTexas A&M  
MENPaul ChelimoUNCG  
MENPaul KatamUNCG  
MENJoey ThompsonUNCG  
MENGilbert KemboiUSC Upstate  
MENBrian McKennaUtah State  
MENMatthew GibneyVillanova  
MENRyan SheridanVillanova  
MENMark AmiraultVirginia  
MENAndrew KimpelWashington State  
MENAlex McGrathWilliam & Mary  
MENRyan CollinsWisconsin  
MENReed ConnorWisconsin  
MENElliott KrauseWisconsin