Rotich Named Division I Cross Country Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year
Award History
NCAA DI mXC All-Academic Athletes

Rotich Named Division I Cross Country Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year

NEW ORLEANS – Anthony Rotich of UTEP was named the USTFCCCA NCAA Division I Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year for the 2012 cross country season by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). This fall, Rotich finished fourth at the DI NCAA Cross Country Championships.

Scholar Athletes are determined from among those who earned All-Academic status and placed highest individually at the most recent NCAA Championships.

Cross Country Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year – Anthony Rotich, UTEP

Rotich, a second-year pre-nursing major from Eldoret, Kenya, has earned a 3.86 cumulative grade point average through the fall semester of 2012.

A freshman in cross country, Rotich was the top freshman at the DI NCAA Cross Country Championships, finishing fourth in 29:13.5 over the 10k course. He was the first UTEP Miner men’s runner to record a top-four finish since Zak Barie claimed the individual title in 1983.

He finished runner-up to eventual national champion Kennedy Kithuka of Texas Tech in the Mountain Regional, and won individual titles at the Conference USA Championships and at Pre-Nationals.

Past Winners

2012: Anthony Rotich, UTEP
2011: Chris Derrick, Stanford
2010: Chris Derrick, Stanford
2009: David McNeill, Northern Arizona
2008: Galen Rupp, Oregon
2007: Galen Rupp, Oregon
2006: Neftalem Araia, Stanford

67 Earn All-Academic Status

In addition to the Scholar Athlete of the Year, the USTFCCCA also announced those men who earned 2012 Division I All-Academic Cross Country status.

A total of 67 student-athletes represent the 40 institutions that compose the group. Tulsa, Iona, Oklahoma, Georgetown, and Virginia each had four squad members named to the All-Academic list to lead the rest of the country. The Big East and Big Ten each tallied eight on the All-Academic list to top the conference list and they were followed by the ACC and Big 12 with seven apiece.

Thirteen of the top 25 finishers from the NCAA Cross Country Championships in the fall earned All-Academic honors. In addition, Tulsa’s Andrew Heyes and Iona’s Daniel Clorley were reported to have cumulative GPAs of 4.0 through the fall 2012 semester. Heyes placed 44th overall at the NCAA National Championships.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have either earned USTFCCCA All-America status or finished in the NCAA region’s top 15 (or top 10 percent) in 2012.

USTFCCCA 2012 Division I Men’s Cross Country All-Academic Honorees

Student-Athlete Institution
John Pope American University
Rex Shields Brigham Young University
Tylor Thatcher Brigham Young University
Jared Ward Brigham Young University
Alex McGrath College of William and Mary
Mike Murphy Columbia University
Thijs  Nijhuis Eastern Kentucky University
Seth Proctor Florida State University
Jakub Zivec Florida State University
Mark Dennin Georgetown University
Ben Furcht Georgetown University
Andrew Springer Georgetown University
Ayalew Taye Georgetown University
Andy Bayer Indiana University, Bloomington
Zach Mayhew Indiana University, Bloomington
Jake Byrne Iona College
Daniel Clorley Iona College
Mitch Goose Iona College
Michael O’Dowd Iona College
Natan Reuter Kennesaw State University
Matt Johnsen Lamar University
Andrew Colley North Carolina State University
Caleb Hoover Northern Arizona University
Brian Shrader Northern Arizona University
Shadrack Kipchirchir Oklahoma State University
Joseph Manilafasha Oklahoma State University
Samuel Masters Pennsylvania State University
Alejandro Arroyo Yamin Princeton University
Matthew McClintock Purdue University
Erik Barkhaus Seattle University
Brian Dixon Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
Nate Jewkes Southern Utah University
Eric Speakman Stony Brook University
Griffith Graves Syracuse University
Martin Hehir Syracuse University
Paul Chelimo UNCG
Paul Katam UNCG
Luke  Baker University of Georgia
Brian Detweiler University of Georgia
Brandon Lord University of Georgia
Hunter Mickow University of Illinois, Champaign
Jannis Toepfer University of Illinois, Champaign
Dan Lowry University of Michigan
Max Storms University of Missouri
Martin Grady University of Notre Dame
Bill  Kogel University of Oklahoma
Ryan Poland University of Oklahoma
Andrew Weaver University of Oklahoma
Kevin Williams University of Oklahoma
Scott Fauble University of Portland
Lars Erik Malde University of Portland
Gilbert Kemboi University of South Carolina Upstate
Kyle Merber University of Texas at Austin
Anthony Rotich University of Texas at El Paso
Andrew Heyes University of Tulsa
Christopher  O’Hare University of Tulsa
Paulo Pinheiro University of Tulsa
Daniel  Thater University of Tulsa
Mark Amirault University of Virginia
Zach Gates University of Virginia
Drew Paisley University of Virginia
Thomas Porter University of Virginia
Reed Connor University of Wisconsin, Madison
Joshua McCabe Utah Valley University
Alex Tully Villanova University
Todd Wakefield Washington State University
Matt Nussbaum Yale University


MENJohn PopeAmerican  
MENRex ShieldsBYU  
MENTylor ThatcherBYU  
MENJared WardBYU  
MENMike MurphyColumbia  
MENThijs NijhuisEastern Kentucky  
MENSeth ProctorFlorida State  
MENJakub ZivecFlorida State  
MENMark DenninGeorgetown  
MENBen FurchtGeorgetown  
MENAndrew SpringerGeorgetown  
MENAyalew TayeGeorgetown  
MENLuke BakerGeorgia  
MENBrian DetweilerGeorgia  
MENBrandon LordGeorgia  
MENHunter MickowIllinois  
MENJannis ToepferIllinois  
MENAndy BayerIndiana  
MENZach MayhewIndiana  
MENJake ByrneIona  
MENDaniel ClorleyIona  
MENMitch GooseIona  
MENMichael O'DowdIona  
MENNatan ReuterKennesaw State  
MENMatt JohnsenLamar  
MENDan LowryMichigan  
MENMax StormsMissouri  
MENAndrew ColleyNC State  
MENCaleb HooverNorthern Arizona  
MENBrian ShraderNorthern Arizona  
MENMartin GradyNotre Dame  
MENBill KogelOklahoma  
MENRyan PolandOklahoma  
MENAndrew WeaverOklahoma  
MENKevin WilliamsOklahoma  
MENShadrack KipchirchirOklahoma State  
MENJoseph ManilafashaOklahoma State  
MENSamuel MastersPenn State  
MENScott FaublePortland  
MENLars Erik MaldePortland  
MENAlejandro Arroyo YaminPrinceton  
MENMatthew McClintockPurdue  
MENErik BarkhausSeattle  
MENBrian DixonSouthern Illinois  
MENNate JewkesSouthern Utah  
MENEric SpeakmanStony Brook  
MENGriffith GravesSyracuse  
MENMartin HehirSyracuse  
MENKyle MerberTexas  
MENAndrew HeyesTulsa  
MENChristopher O'HareTulsa  
MENPaulo PinheiroTulsa  
MENDaniel ThaterTulsa  
MENPaul ChelimoUNCG  
MENPaul KatamUNCG  
MENGilbert KemboiUSC Upstate  
MENJoshua McCabeUtah Valley  
MENAnthony RotichUTEP  
MENSamuel McEnteeVillanova  
MENAlex TullyVillanova  
MENMark AmiraultVirginia  
MENZach GatesVirginia  
MENDrew PaisleyVirginia  
MENThomas PorterVirginia  
MENTodd WakefieldWashington State  
MENAlex McGrathWilliam & Mary  
MENReed ConnorWisconsin  
MENMatt NussbaumYale