Villanova’s Sheila Reid Adds D-I Scholar Athlete of the Year to 2010 Cross Country Scrapbook

Villanova’s Sheila Reid Adds D-I Scholar Athlete of the Year to 2010 Cross Country Scrapbook

NEW ORLEANS – Sheila Reid of Villanova University was named the USTFCCCA NCAA Division I Women’s Scholar Athlete of the Year for the 2010 cross country season on Tuesday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). Reid was the individual national champion at the 2010 NCAA Cross Country Championships in the fall and led the Wildcats to a team national title as well.

Scholar Athletes are determined from among those who earned All-Academic status and placed highest individually at the most recent NCAA Championships.

Cross Country Women’s Scholar Athlete of the Year – Sheila Reid, Villanova

Reid, a senior from Newmarket, Ontario, not only won her first NCAA national cross country crown in the fall, but she also led the Wildcats of Villanova to their second-straight, and eighth overall, NCAA team title.

Reid has earned a 3.37 cumulative GPA and majors in English.

At the NCAA meet, with a 20:06.9 run in the 6k race, she topped Georgetown’s Emily Infeld by just over two seconds in the closest finish in NCAA women’s Division I history. Reid was also the first since Villanova’s Jennifer Rhines to win the individual NCAA title while leading their team to victory. Reid also won the NCAA Mid-Atlantic Regional by 16 seconds to win a second-consecutive region title. Reid was also this year’s Big East Conference champion and a winner at the Penn State National.

Past Winners

2010: Sheila Reid, Villanova

2009: Angela Bizzarri, Illinois

2008: Tasmin Fanning, Virginia Tech

2007: Jenny Barringer, Colorado

2006: Jenny Barringer, Colorado

99 Earn All-Academic Status

In addition to the Scholar Athlete of the Year, the USTFCCCA also announced those women who earned 2010 Division I All-Academic Cross Country status.

A total of 99 student-athletes represent 62 institutions that compose the group. Syracuse led all teams with five All-Academic nods while Florida State followed with four. Among all conferences, the Big East picked 16 plaudits while the Big 12 was next in line with 15.

Six of the top ten finishers at the 2010 NCAA Cross Country Championships earned All-Academic status, including Reid, Jordan Hasay (Oregon), Risper Kimaiyo (UTEP), Lucy Van Dalen (Stony Brook), Holly Van Dalen (Stony Brook), and Amanda Marino (Villanova). In addition, six of nine NCAA Regional Champions from the 2010 season earned All-Academic standing.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have either earned USTFCCCA All-America status or finished in the NCAA region’s top 15 (or top 10 percent) in 2010.

USTFCCCA 2010 Division I Cross Country All-Academic Honorees, WOMEN

Holly Knight Auburn University
Robyn Bennett Baylor University
Cate Westenhover Baylor University
Jillian King Boston College
Hope Krause Boston College
Margaret Connelly Brown University
Katie Clark Butler University
Raeanne Lohner Central Michigan University
Alyssa Kulik Clemson University
Kim Ruck Clemson University
Elise DeRoo Colgate University
Kelsey Karys Cornell University
Devin McMahon Cornell University
Juliet Bottorff Duke University
Courtney Calka Eastern Michigan University
Hannah Brooks Florida State University
Jennifer Dunn Florida State University
Jessica Parry Florida State University
Amanda Winslow Florida State University
Emily Jones Georgetown University
Joanna Stevens Georgetown University
Renee Tomlin Georgetown University
Mary Kate DuBard Georgia Institute of Technology
Heidi Gregson Iona College
Semehar Tesfaye Iowa State University
Sydney Messick Kansas State University
Mackenzie Howe Kennesaw State University
Jennifer Klugh Liberty University
Tara Erdmann Loyola Marymount University
Sheree Shea Loyola Marymount University
Rachel Patterson Miami University (Ohio)
Carlie Green Michigan State University
Emily MacLeod Michigan State University
Haley Greenwell Mississippi State University
Renee Masterson Mississippi State University
Laura Hoer North Carolina State University
Annie Beecham Ohio University
Felicity Milton Oklahoma State University
Natalja Piliusina Oklahoma State University
Alex Banfich Princeton University
Sarah Cummings Princeton University
Ashley Higginson Princeton University
Charlotte Ffrench O’Carroll Providence College
Samantha Roecker Providence College
Britany Williams Rice University
Mary Alenbratt Southern Methodist University
Alex Dunne Stanford University
Kathy Kroeger Stanford University
Stephanie Marcy Stanford University
Stephanie Ganter Stephen F. Austin State University
Hayley Green Stony Brook University
Holly Van Dalen Stony Brook University
Lucy Van Dalen Stony Brook University
Natalie Busby Syracuse University
Catherine DeSarle Syracuse University
Katie Hursey Syracuse University
Lauren Penney Syracuse University
Heather Stephens Syracuse University
Tara Upshaw Texas A&M University, College Station
Purity Biwott Texas Tech University
Caroline Jepleting Texas Tech University
Winrose Karunde Texas Tech University
Ellen Birmingham The Ohio State University
Meredith Wagner The Ohio State University
Elvin Kibet University of Arizona
Megan Meyer University of Arizona
Miranda Walker University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Deborah Maier University of California, Berkeley
Laura Tremblay University of Colorado, Boulder
Maura Bulgrin University of Dayton
Rebecca Lowe University of Florida
Kristie Krueger University of Georgia
Rebeka Stowe University of Kansas
Kim Grieshaber University of Louisville
Conner Corey University of Maine, Orono
Missa Varpness University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Ashley Schnell University of North Carolina, Greensboro
Jordan Hasay University of Oregon
Alexandra Kosinski University of Oregon
Jana Stolting University of San Francisco
Julie Amthor University of Texas at Austin
Mia Behm University of Texas at Austin
Marielle Hall University of Texas at Austin
Risper Kimaiyo University of Texas at El Paso
Amanda Mergaert University of Utah
Stephanie Garcia University of Virginia
Morgane Gay University of Virginia
Christine Babcock University of Washington
Kailey Campbell University of Washington
Justine Johnson University of Washington
Caitlin Comfort University of Wisconsin, Madison
Jordan White Vanderbilt University
Amanda Marino Villanova University
Sheila Reid Villanova University
Alison Smith Villanova University
Sarah-Anne Brault West Virginia University
Kaitlyn Gillespie West Virginia University
Vasity Chemweno Western Kentucky University
Tonya Nero Wichita State University