Villanova’s Sheila Reid Wins Third Scholar-Athlete of the Year Honor

Villanova’s Sheila Reid Wins Third Scholar-Athlete of the Year Honor

NEW ORLEANS – Sheila Reid of Villanova University was named the USTFCCCA NCAA Division I Women’s Scholar Athlete of the Year for the 2011 cross country season on Thursday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). Reid won a second-straight NCAA cross country individual national title this past fall. Overall, it is Reid’s third Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. Reid has twice won the cross country version of the award, and, for the 2011 track & field season, she was the USTFCCCA’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year for outdoor track.

Scholar Athletes are determined from among those who earned All-Academic status and placed highest individually at the most recent NCAA Championships.

Cross Country Women’s Scholar Athlete of the Year – Sheila Reid, Villanova

Reid, an English major from Newmarket, Ontario, has a cumulative GPA of 3.39 through the fall 2011 semester.

At the NCAA Championships in the fall, Reid captured the second-straight title in leading the Wildcats to a third-place team finish. In one of the best finishes in recent memory, Reid had to compete with a lead pack of eight runners heading into the final 500-meter stretch. Reid and Oregon’s Jordan Hasay separated from the group and ran side-by-side until the final 100 meters where Reid outsprinted Hasay to take the crown in 19:41.2.

Reid became the fifth in NCAA history to win back-to-back individual crowns.

Reid also won the NCAA Mid-Atlantic title for the third-straight time in the fall with a 21:32.7, outdistancing Georgetown’s Emily Infield by just over a second. Reid won the Big East crown for the third-straight time in leading the Wildcats a fourth-straight league championship.

Past Winners

2011: Sheila Reid, Villanova
2010: Sheila Reid, Villanova
2009: Angela Bizzarri, Illinois
2008: Tasmin Fanning, Virginia Tech
2007: Jenny Barringer, Colorado
2006: Jenny Barringer, Colorado

104 Earn All-Academic Status

In addition to the Scholar Athlete of the Year, the USTFCCCA also announced those women who earned 2011 Division I All-Academic Cross Country status.

A total of 104 student-athletes represent the 67 institutions that compose the group. National-finishing fourth-place team Florida State had six athletes named to the All-Academic honor roll, the most of any other squad in the country. Vanderbilt, Michigan, and West Virginia followed with four apiece.

The Big Ten Conference and the Big East Conference share the top-conference honors as 15 from their member institutions earned the plaudit. The ACC followed with 14 named to the list. The Pac-12 was next with 12.

The top three finishers from the NCAA Championships – Reid, Oregon’s Jordan Hasay, and Dartmouth’s Abbey D’Agostino – all earned the All-Academic nod. In addition, six of the race’s top ten and 14 of the top 25 made the cut.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have either earned USTFCCCA All-America status or finished in the NCAA region’s top 15 (or top 10 percent) in 2011.

USTFCCCA 2011 Division I Cross Country All-Academic Honorees, WOMEN

Jillian King Boston College
Liv Westphal Boston College
Heidi Caldwell Brown University
Meghan Breadmore California Polytechnic State University
Alyssa Kulik Clemson University
Dena O’Brien College of Charleston (South Carolina)
Nicole Peters Colorado State University
Katie Kellner Cornell University
Abbey D’Agostino Dartmouth College
Suejin Ahn Duke University
Madeline Morgan Duke University
Brittany Copeland East Carolina University
Lydia Kosgei Eastern Kentucky University
Hannah Brooks Florida State University
Jessica Parry Florida State University
Colleen Quigley Florida State University
Kayleigh Tyerman Florida State University
Amanda Winslow Florida State University
Aubree Worden Florida State University
Katrina Coogan Georgetown University
Emily Jones Georgetown University
Claire Richardson Georgetown University
Bradi Hutchison Idaho State University
Aisha Praught Illinois State University
Hollie Rowland Iona College
Morgan Casey Iowa State University
Meaghan Nelson Iowa State University
Dani Stack Iowa State University
Katlin Harman James Madison University
Jenn Klugh Liberty University
Tara Erdmann Loyola Marymount University
Julia Otwell Michigan State University
Courtney Schultz New Mexico State University
Laura Hoer North Carolina State University
Juli Accurso Ohio University
Kara Millhouse Pennsylvania State University
Alex Banfich Princeton University
Laura Nagel Providence College
Allison Pye Rice University
Becky Wade Rice University
Silje Fjortoft Southern Methodist University
Diana Medina Southern Utah University
Aisling Cuffe Stanford University
Kathy Kroeger Stanford University
Stephanie Marcy Stanford University
Patricia Barry Stony Brook University
Hayley Green Stony Brook University
Sarah Pagano Syracuse University
Lauren Penney Syracuse University
Caroline Jepleting Texas Tech University
Victoria Brink The Ohio State University
Nicole Hilton The Ohio State University
Jordan Jennewine The Ohio State University
Elvin Kibet University of Arizona
Kaitlin Flattmann University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Kristen Gillespie University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Dominique Scott University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Deborah Maier University of California, Berkeley
Chelsea Reilly University of California, Berkeley
Lauren Sara University of Connecticut
Elissa Mason University of Dayton
Hannah Kiser University of Idaho
Juliann Fricke University of Maryland, College Park
Rebecca Addison University of Michigan
Taylor Pogue University of Michigan
Jillian Smith University of Michigan
Danielle Tauro University of Michigan
Ashlie Decker University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Stephanie Price University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Katie Breathitt University of Mississippi
Bailey Belvis University of Missouri, Columbia
Ashley Miller University of Nebraska, Lincoln
Katie White University of Nebraska, Lincoln
Ashley Schnell University of North Carolina, Greensboro
Gabriella Gonzales University of Notre Dame
Jessica Rydberg University of Notre Dame
Jessica Engel University of Oklahoma
Jordan Hasay University of Oregon
Claire Michel University of Oregon
Laura Suur University of San Francisco
Jemeli Sang University of South Carolina Upstate
Allie Prendergast University of South Florida
Risper Kimaiyo University of Texas at El Paso
Paula Whiting University of Tulsa
Alyssa Abbott University of Utah
Morgan Powers University of Vermont
Anna Corrigan University of Virginia
Christine Babcock University of Washington
Lindsay Flanagan University of Washington
Justine Johnson University of Washington
Ashley Beutler University of Wisconsin, Madison
Caitlin Comfort University of Wisconsin, Madison
Liz Anderson Vanderbilt University
Louise Hannallah Vanderbilt University
Alexa Rogers Vanderbilt University
Jordan White Vanderbilt University
Sheila Reid Villanova University
Jenese Amber Henry Weber State University
Sarah-Anne Brault West Virginia University
Katie Gillespie West Virginia University
Kate Harrison West Virginia University
Ahna Lewis West Virginia University
Aliphine Tuliamuk Wichita State University
Liana Epstein Yale University