Award History
USTFCCCA XC High School State COY

2015 State-by-State High School Cross Country Coaches of the Year

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced Wednesday the state-by-state winners of its second annual High School Coach of the Year award for cross country.

One boys coach and one girls coach from each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia – as seen in the lists below – were honored for their successes during the fall of 2015, as selected by a committee of experts from around the nation.

State-by-state winners were selected based on their teams’ performances throughout the 2015 cross country season. Among the factors taken into consideration were team score and placement at the state championships, margin of victory, performance against rankings if available, individual championships, and how their teams’ performances stacked up to previous years (e.g. first title in school history, consecutive titles, etc.)

Each honoree will receive a trophy from the USTFCCCA recognizing his or her achievements.

The winners from each state are in consideration for the association’s National High School Cross Country Coach of the Year award. One boys coach and one girls coach from among all the states will be selected by a panel of experts and be announced later this month as the national winners.

The full lists can be seen below.


The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) is a non-profit professional organization representing cross country and track & field coaches of all levels. The organization represents over 9,000 coaching members encompassing 94% of all NCAA track & field programs (DI, DII, and DIII) and includes members representing the NAIA and NJCAA, as well as a number of state high school coaches associations. The USTFCCCA serves as an advocate for cross country and track & field coaches, providing a leadership structure to assist the needs of a diverse membership, serving as a lobbyist for coaches’ interests, and working as a liaison between the various stakeholders in the sports of cross country and track & field.

2015 USTFCCCA Boys High School Cross Country Coaches of the Year
(State-by-State Winners)

State Coach Name School
Alabama Dan Norton Auburn High School
Alaska Ruth Barndt West High School
Arizona Chris Hanson Desert Vista High School
Arkansas Michelle Fyfe Fayetteville High School
California Doug Soles  Great Oak High School 
Colorado Johathon Dalby Mountain Vista High School
Connecticut Laddie Lawrence Staples High School
Delaware Rick Schuder Charter School of Wilmington
District of Columbia John Ausema Gonzaga High School
Florida Ken Vinal Trinity Preparatory School
Georgia Jack Coleman Marietta High School
Hawaii Lupe Diaz Hawaii Preparatory Academy
Idaho Tracy Harris Mountain View High School
Illinois John O’Malley Carl Sandburg High School
Indiana Colin Altevogt Carmel High School
Iowa Tim Ives Dowling Catholic High School
Kansas Curtis Vermillion Halstead High School
Kentucky Chuck Medley Saint Xavier High School
Louisiana Claney Duplechin Episcopal High School
Maine Erich Reed George Stevens Academy
Maryland Chad Boyle Dulaney High School
Massachusetts Brian Heenan Marblehead High School
Michigan Cliff Somers Fremont High School
Minnesota Mike Harris Hopkins High School
Mississippi Chris Barnett Pearl High School
Missouri Sean O’Connor Lafayette High School
Montana Clint May Bozeman High School
Nebraska Michele Kontor Milford High School
Nevada Ed Parise McQueen High School
New Hampshire Mike Clark Pinkerton Academy
New Jersey Rich Gebauer Old Bridge High School
New Mexico Bob Jackson Hobbs High School
New York Tracey Vannatta Liverpool High School
North Carolina Rick Spencer Weddington High School
North Dakota Brian Anderson New Town High School
Ohio Denise Benson Lexington High School
Oklahoma Steve Patterson Jenks High School
Oregon Carol McLatchie Summit High School
Pennsylvania Scott Burns Downingtown West High School
Rhode Island Ken Skelly LaSalle Academy
South Carolina Bret Davis Wando High School
South Dakota Jason Wagoner Roosevelt High School
Tennessee Marshall Smith Brentwood Academy
Texas Juris Green The Woodlands High School
Utah Corbin Talley Davis High High School
Vermont Scott Bliss Champlain Valley Union High School
Virginia Marc Hunter
Joan Hunter
Loudoun Valley High School
Washington Jeff Brady Tahoma High School
West Virginia Chris Parsons Cabell Midland
Wisconsin Mike Heling Kimberly High School
Wyoming Greg Schabron Laramie High School


2015 USTFCCCA Girls High School Cross Country Coaches of the Year
(State-by-State Winners)

State Coach Name School
Alabama Michael McGovern Mountain Brook High School
Alaska Bill Steyer Homer High School
Arizona Matt Lincoln Chandler High School
Arkansas Jeff Haynes Trinity Christian School
California Doug Soles Great Oak High School 
Colorado Steve Rischling Air Academy High School
Connecticut Judi Lafontaine Tolland High School
Delaware Jennifer Carroll St. Andrew’s School
District of Columbia Anthony Belber Georgetown Day School
Florida Tony Ryan The Bolles School
Georgia Amy Eubanks Westminster Schools
Hawaii Duncan MacDonald Punahou School
Idaho Greg Harm Eagle High School
Illinois Kevin Gummerson Minooka High School
Indiana Mark Ellington Carmel High School
Iowa Dan Davis Urbandale High School
Kansas Susan Nelgares Manhattan-Ogden High School
Kentucky Mark Fortney Daviess County High School
Louisiana Gerald Singer Mandeville High School
Maine Bob Morse Yarmouth High School
Maryland Becky Walter Boonsboro High School
Massachusetts Thomas Shaw Milton High School
Michigan Jeffrey Devantier Seaholm High School
Minnesota Matt Gabrielson Edina High School
Mississippi Charles Covington Saltillo High School
Missouri Scott Brandon Lafayette High School
Montana Clint May Bozeman High School
Nebraska Jayne Arens Crofton High School
Nevada Roy Session Centennial High School
New Hampshire Tim Cox
Brent Tkaczyk
Coe-Brown Northwood Academy
New Jersey Tim Mooney Ridge High School
New Mexico Kathy Hipwood
Rob Hipwood
Los Alamos High School
New York Bill Aris Fayetteville-Manlius High School
North Carolina Nick Mangum Cardinal Gibbons High School 
North Dakota Kurt Zink Hillsboro High School
Ohio Dave Dobson Centerville High School
Oklahoma David Ayres Bartlesville High School
Oregon Daniel Neeway Sunset High School
Pennsylvania Greg Sargent Pennsbury High School
Rhode Island Kelly Martin LaSalle Academy
South Carolina Eric Cummings Riverside High School
South Dakota Todd Thorson Ipswich High School
Tennessee Cathy Cheeseman Brentwood Academy
Texas Steve Teleneus Marcus High School
Utah Jody Benson Timpanogos High School
Vermont John Kerrigan Harwood Union High School
Virginia James Demarco Blacksburg High School
Washington Mike Smith Liberty High School
West Virginia David Aberegg Berkeley Springs High School
Wisconsin John Kashian Pewaukee High School
Wyoming Jeff Brazil Jackson Hole High School