All-America Honors for 2010 Division II Cross Country Season Released

All-America Honors for 2010 Division II Cross Country Season Released

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Monday the 80 student-athletes that received All-America honors for the 2010 NCAA Division II Cross Country season. Overall finish at the NCAA Championships is the determining factor as the top 40 individuals from both men’s and women’s races earn All-America plaudits from the USTFCCCA.

Adams State’s men won their third-straight NCAA team title on Saturday and all seven Grizzlies that participated earned All-America status with top 40 finishes. Senior Brandon Birdsong led the school with a fourth-place finish, followed by Ryan McNiff who placed sixth. Western State, who placed second in the team battle, finished the season with five All-America honors.

Chico State’s Issac Chavez was the lead freshman with a fifth-place finish in the men’s race.

Overall, the RMAC led all conferences with 16 of the 40 All-America honors going to member schools. The GLIAC and GNAC followed with four apiece.

On the women’s side, Grand Valley State won their first women’s cross country NCAA team title in school history. Led by senior Katherine McCarthy’s fourth-place finish, the Lakers notched All-America honors for each of their seven runners. Western State notched five All-America honors as the team finished second overall.

The GLIAC and RMAC each had nine women earn All-America honors to lead the conference count.

On Tuesday, Division II’s National Athletes and Coaches of the Year will be named.

2010 USTFCCCA Division II Cross Country All-Americans


Amos Sang Abilene Christian
Brandon Birdsong Adams State
Ryan McNiff Adams State
Luke Cragg Adams State
Craig Huffer Adams State
Keegan Calmes Adams State
Edwin Cruz Adams State
Nathaniel Sellers Adams State
Micah Chelimo Alaska Anchorage
Marko Cheseto Alaska Anchorage
Glarius Rop American International
Matt Braithwaite Augustana (S.D.)
Tom Karbo Augustana (S.D.)
Issac Chavez Chico State
Brent Handa Chico State
Ben Zywicki Colorado Mines
Sean Gildea Colorado Mines
Mack McLain Colorado Mines
Aaron Swift Colorado Mines
Meshack Koyiaki Columbus State
Jamie Villa Zapatero Drury
Scott Anderson Edinboro
Anthony Witt Grand Valley State
Tyler Emmorey Grand Valley State
Paul Zielinski Grand Valley State
Ryan Toth Grand Valley State
Alex Monroe Lock Haven
Michael Crouch Queens (N.C.)
Brandon Boyer Shippensburg
Dustin Emerick Southern Indiana
Brendan Devine Southern Indiana
Jeff Veiga UMass Lowell
Angus MacDonald UMass Lowell
Gabriel Proctor Western State
Ryan Haebe Western State
Sean Brown Western State
Tyler Rasmussen Western State
David Flynn Western State
Jordan Welling Western Washington
Bennett Grimes Western Washington


Kristen McGlynn Adams State
Alicia Nelson Adams State
Cassie Mitchell Adams State
Kelly Lamb Adams State
Ruth Keino Alaska Anchorage
Miriam Kipng’eno Alaska Anchorage
Kristin Brondbo Augustana (S.D.)
Runa Falch Augustana (S.D.)
Kara Lubieniecki Chico State
Shannon Rich Chico State
Rosie Mascoli East Stroudsburg
Christina Muir Ferris State
Katherine McCarthy Grand Valley State
Megan Maceratini Grand Valley State
Rebecca Winchester Grand Valley State
Kylen Cieslak Grand Valley State
Julia Nowak Grand Valley State
Monica Kinney Grand Valley State
Jessie Vickers Grand Valley State
Erin Brunko Hillsdale
Kate Griewisch Lenoir-Rhyne
Kathryn Hague Lewis
Alexis Skarda Mesa State
Elicia Anderson Millersville
Morgan Place Minnesota Duluth
Jaclyn Puga Northwest Nazarene
Meghan Gilmore Palm Beach Atlantic
Kimone Hewitt Queens (N.C.)
Neely Spence Shippensburg
Katie Spratford Shippensburg
Mary Dell Shippensburg
Jennifer Harpp Slippery Rock
Jackie Henderson Southern Indiana
Heather Nicolosi Tampa
Melissa Agnew U-Mary
Lauren Kleppin Western State
Sarah Lyle Western State
Hillory Davis Western State
Julianne Payton Western State
Sarah Porter Western Washington