2017 USTFCCCA High School Track & Field Coaches of the Year (State-By-State)

NEW ORLEANS — The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced Wednesday the state-by-state winners of its fourth annual High School Coach of the Year award for track & field.

Started in 2014, the award is bestowed to selected coaches based on a number of criteria: their teams’ finishes at their respective state championships, the number of different events in which athletes were qualified, individual championships and how their teams’ performances stack up to previous years, among other criteria.

One boys coach and one girls coach from each state – and the District of Columbia – is selected.

QUICK LINKS: List of Boys Coaches | List of Girls Coaches

Each honoree will receive a trophy from the USTFCCCA recognizing his or her achievements.

As a bonus, the winners from each state are now in consideration for the USTFCCCA’s National High School Track & Field Coach of the Year Award. One boys coach and one girls coach will be chosen by a panel of experts and those names will be announced later this month.

Last year’s winners were Pete Boudreaux of Catholic High School (Louisiana) and Jeff Carpenter of Bishop Kelly High School (Idaho).

The full lists of state-by-state winners can be seen below.

2017 USTFCCCA Boys High School Track & Field Coaches of the Year (State-By-State Winners)

State Coach Name School
Alabama Dale Carrell Westminster School at Oak Mountain
Alaska Milo  Griffin West Valley High School
Arizona Bob Shisler Scottsdale Preparatory Academy
Arkansas Dale Cresswell Heber Springs High School
California Tim Callier Rancho Verde High School
Colorado Darwin Horan Lutheran High School
Connecticut Tim  Geary Daniel Hand High School
Delaware James Solomon Dover High School
District of Columbia Tia Clemmons Woodrow Wilson High School
Florida Darryl Elmore Miami Northwestern High School
Georgia Jason Cage Westlake High School
Georgia Robert Wilson Westlake High School
Hawaii Micah Pavich Punahou School
Idaho Brett  Hill Sugar-Salem High School
Illinois John  Artman Illini West High School
Indiana Kenneth Browner Carmel High School
Iowa Casey Baxa Lisbon High School
Kansas Ryan Cornelson Hutchinson High School
Kentucky Terry Yeast Mercer County Senior High
Louisiana Claney Duplechin Episcopal School of Baton Rouge
Maine Ken Nadeau Winslow High School
Maryland Robert  Youngblood Northwest High School
Massachusetts James Blackburn Newton North High School
Michigan Ralph Neal Zeeland East High School
Minnesota Jon Gilmer Lakeville South High School
Mississippi Jeremy Harrell Tylertown High School
Missouri Joseph Cusack Blue Springs High School
Montana Brandon  Quessenberry Billings Senior High School
Nebraska Tim  Kassmeier Norfolk Catholic High School
Nevada Dale Moss Reed High School
New Hampshire Carol Quarles Pinkerton Academy
New Jersey Mike Tursi Mater Dei Prep
New Mexico Kenny Henry V. Sue Cleveland High
New York Malcom Burke Newburgh Free Academy
North Carolina Rick  Spencer Weddington High School
North Dakota Brian Anderson New Town High School
Ohio Tom Loy East Canton High School
Oklahoma Jackie  Rollins Carl Albert High School
Oregon Adam Thygeson Oregon City High School
Pennsylvania Tom Hale Hickory High School
Rhode Island Dan O’Kleasky Central High School
South Carolina Jeff Johns Dorman High School
South Dakota Jim Jarovski Lincoln High School
Tennessee Rashad  Haynes Central High School
Texas Juris Green The Woodlands High
Utah Shane Rowley Delta High School
Vermont Arlan  Langmaid St. Johnsbury Academy
Virginia Neil Mathews Lee-Davis High School
Washington Linda Gudmunson Mount Vernon Christian School
West Virginia Richard Conaway St. Marys High School
Wisconsin Brad Hoerth Kimberly High School
Wyoming Mark Hilleman Kelly Walsh High School


2017 USTFCCCA Girls High School Track & Field Coaches of the Year (State-By-State Winners)

State Coach Name School
Alabama Ed Wright Montgomery Catholic Prepartory School
Alaska Melissa Hall Chugiak High School
Arizona Bob Shisler Scottsdale Preparatory Academy
Arkansas Drew Yoakum Fayetteville High School
California Crystal Irving Long Beach Polytechnic High School
Colorado John Reyes Grandview High School
Connecticut Anne  Burrows Bloomfield High School
Delaware Maura Schafer Smyrna High School
District of Columbia Desmond Dunham Woodrow Wilson High School
Florida Dja Dugue Miami Southridege Senior High School
Georgia Brad Kinser Greater Atlanta Christian School
Hawaii Bobby Grossman Seabury Hall
Idaho Tracy Harris Mountian View High School
Illinois Patrick Garst Dunlap High School
Indiana Le’Gretta Smith Warren Central High School
Iowa Tim O’Neill Davenport Assumption High School
Kansas Randall Zimmerman Junction High School
Kentucky Sheree Beaumont Louisville Male High School
Louisiana Jennifer  Daigle Ascension Catholic Diocesan Regional School
Maine John Folan Greely High School
Maryland Omar Wilkins Elizabeth Seton High School
Massachusetts Dion Crichlow Milton High School
Michigan Josh Powers Adrian Madison High School
Minnesota Jason Massman Saint Michael-Albertville
Mississippi Carlton Cotton West Harrison High School
Missouri Jesse Griffin Lee’s Summit West High School
Montana Spencer Huls Corvallis High School
Nebraska Gordon Wilson Aurora High School
Nevada Roy Sessions Centennial High School
New Hampshire Mike Lyford Portsmouth High School
New Jersey Mike  McCabe Union Catholic High School
New Mexico Tim Flores V. Sue Cleveland High
New York Robert  Cloutier Shenendehowa High School
North Carolina James Smoots Hillside High School
North Dakota John Ward Hazen High School
Ohio Tim Crooks Cincinnati Withrow
Oklahoma Tim Grantham Edmond Memorial High School
Oregon Erich Herber West Salem High School
Pennsylvania James Boyd Hickory High School
Rhode Island Dave Federico Westerly High School
South Carolina Eric Cummings Riverside High School
South Dakota Maxine Unterbrunner Madison High School
Tennessee Yusuf Sharif Whitehaven High School
Texas Jessica Richards McKinney North High School
Utah Tom Davidson Box Elder High School
Vermont Mark McKenna Rice Memorial High School
Virginia Calude Toukene Western Branch High School
Washington Cap Perry Oakesdale High School
West Virginia Sarah Summers Ripley High School
Wisconsin Calvin  Matthew Milwaukee Rufus King High School
Wyoming Shelly Stremcha Campbell County High School