2014 USTFCCCA All-Americans for NCAA Division III Cross Country
Award History
NCAA DIII XC All-America

2014 USTFCCCA All-Americans for NCAA Division III Cross Country

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced Monday the 70 student-athletes who earned All-America honors by finishing among the top 35 at the 2014 NCAA Division III Cross Country Championships men’s and women’s races.

All-America Archive
NCAA Championships Central | Final Results
Men’s Race Recap | Women’s Race Recap
Video Interviews

On the men’s side, runner-up St. Olaf, seventh-place UW-Eau Claire, and eighth place MIT led the way with three All-Americans apiece.  Women’s champion Johns Hopkins, runner-up MIT, and third-place St. Lawrence each had four All-Americans. 

MIT was the only school with multiple AAs for each sex, and they brought a wealth of medals back to Cambridge: the Engineers had seven All-Americans between the men and women.  As any Engineer could no doubt tell you, that’s a full 10% of the honors that were awarded this year.

Men’s teams with two All-Americans were national champion North Central (Ill.), Dickinson, UW-La Crosse, UW-Platteville, Washington (Mo.), and Williams.  Winning with depth rather than low sticks is an NCC trademark: its last two championship teams in 2011 and 2012 also only had a pair of All-Americans.

Historically, there are typically zero, one, or two freshmen who crack the men’s top 35.  (Three did it in 1973, 1976, 1983, 1987, and 2001) A new standard this year was set as four freshmen were in the top 35.  They were Colin Godwin of MIT, Mohamed Hussein of Amherst, Darin Lau of Eau Claire, and Jonah Weisse of La Crosse.

Hussein was one of five AAs from the NESCAC, while Weisse and Lau were part of a octet from the WIAC.  The WIAC’s eight and the NESCAC’s five made them the two leading conferences.  The MIAC trailed with four.

The WIAC was part of Midwest Region domination.  No two regions combined to have more honorees than the Midwest, which led the way with thirteen All-Americans.  New England was second with eight, and the Central had the third most with five. No other region had more than three.

Repeat All-Americans were individual national champion Grant Wintheiser and Jake Campbell of St. Olaf, Eli Horton of Central, Nick Marcantonio of Cortland, Colin Cotton of Williams, Drew Padgett of WashU, Ryan Mugan of Eau Claire, Patrick Jenkins of Stout, Will Cross of Elmhurst, John Guzman of Occidental, and Zorg Loustalet of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps.

It was the third AA honor for Wintheiser, Horton, and Marcantonio. Improbably, Marcantonio has finished in exactly 23rd place each of the last three years.

No women’s conference was able to outdo the four AAs produced by Hopkins (Centennial), MIT (NEWMAC), and St. Lawrence (Liberty League). The NESCAC tied those teams with four.

The other two women’s teams with multiple All-Americans were sixth-place Middlebury and seventh-place Oberlin, which each had two.

St. Lawrence’s Megan Kellogg in 11th was the only freshman in the top 35.

The women showed significantly more regional parity than the men.  New England’s eight All-Americans were the most in the nation, but the Atlantic was only one behind with seven and the Mideast, Central, and Midwest had five each.

Repeat All-Americans were individual champion Amy Regan of Stevens Institute, Lucy Cheadle of WashU, Rachel Malone of Brockport State, Catherine Young of Chicago, Frances Loeb of Johns Hopkins, Cassandra Vince of Calvin, Emma Shunk of Wheaton, Kimber Meyer of Macalester, Emma Lehmann and Lindsay Neal of Oberlin, and Elaine McVay of MIT. 

It was the fourth straight year that Cheadle was an All-American.  She’s the 13th runner in DIII history to accomplish that and the first in a decade to do so.  McVay came excruciatingly close—she was 38th in 2011 and 2012. That’s Malone’s third All-American award; the rest of the repeaters have done it twice.

National Athletes and Coaches of the Year will be announced Tuesday.

2014 USTFCCCA All-Americans – NCAA Division III Men

Name School Year Finish
Mohamed Hussein Amherst FR 30
Hart Hornor Carleton JR 18
Eli Horton Central (Iowa) SR 28
Zorg Loustalet Claremont-Mudd-Scripps JR 27
David Chelimo Colby SO 11
Mark Weinhoffer Dickinson SR 29
Nick Stender Dickinson SR 32
Will Cross Elmhurst SR 16
Kevin Wood Middlebury SR 34
Spencer Wenck MIT JR 4
Colin Godwin MIT FR 22
Matt Deyo MIT SO 25
Dillon Farrell Moravian SR 17
Travis Morrison North Central (Ill.) JR 7
Aron Sebhat North Central (Ill.) JR 12
Geno Arthur Oberlin JR 19
John Guzman Occidental SR 24
Matt Giannino RIT SR 35
Benjamin Fazio RPI SO 26
Grant Wintheiser St. Olaf SR 1
Jake Campbell St. Olaf JR 9
Paul Escher St. Olaf JR 14
Nick Marcantonio SUNY Cortland SR 23
Josh Thorson UW-Eau Claire SO 3
Ryan Mugan UW-Eau Claire JR 10
Darin Lau UW-Eau Claire FR 31
Alex Ciesielski UW-La Crosse SR 8
Jonah Weisse UW-La Crosse FR 33
Ian LaMere UW-Platteville SO 5
Joel Walden UW-Platteville SR 20
Patrick Jenkins UW-Stout SR 13
Andrew Padgett Washington (Mo.) SR 6
Josh Clark Washington (Mo.) JR 21
Colin Cotton Williams SR 2
Bijan Mazaheri Williams JR 15


2014 USTFCCCA All-Americans – NCAA Division III Women

Name School Year Finish
Savanna Gornisiewicz Amherst SO 23
Rachel Malone Brockport SR 18
Cassandra Vince Calvin SO 3
Ruth Steinke Carleton JR 4
Catherine Young Chicago JR 27
Sanjuanita Martinez Cornell College JR 19
Tamara Surtees Emory SR 34
Emily Rabenold Grove City JR 28
Sophia Meehan Johns Hopkins JR 6
Ashley Murphy Johns Hopkins SR 15
Tess Meehan Johns Hopkins SO 24
Frances Loeb Johns Hopkins SR 29
Kimber Meyer Macalester SO 7
Alison Maxwell Middlebury SR 33
Summer Spillane Middlebury SR 35
Elaine McVay MIT SR 12
Sarah Quinn MIT SO 16
Christina Wicker MIT SO 17
Maryann Gong MIT SO 32
Kyra Kimber Monmouth (Ill.) SR 25
Gabi Jenkins Nebraska Wesleyan JR 30
Emma Lehmann Oberlin SR 9
Lindsay Neal Oberlin SR 14
Maya Weigel Pomona-Pitzer SO 22
Cassia Hameline St. Lawrence JR 8
Megan Kellogg St. Lawrence FR 11
Anne Martino St. Lawrence SR 21
Lisa Grohn St. Lawrence SO 26
Erin Statz St. Thomas (Minn.) SR 13
Amy Regan Stevens JR 1
Cassie Goodman SUNY Geneseo SR 20
Kelly Fahey Tufts SO 31
Laura Mead UW-La Crosse SR 10
Lucy Cheadle Washington (Mo.) SR 2
Emma Shunk Wheaton (Ill.) SR 5